Recent Bad Reviews


Recent Complaints and Negative Reviews (446 reviews)



No ethics, it is a trap

(1.4 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny but costed me hundreds of dollars. The last bill I paid, it was 10.5 Cents per KWH versus AES rates are 4.8 cents per hour. I won't even give them a single star. They are big company but they do not have any ethics. 218.75% more then AES. I will never recommend this company to any body.

LG
November 11th, 2021

NRG Home Logo

NRG Home


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

It is a nightmare!

(1.4 / 5)

  I chose this company, because I've had them in the past. I was due to move into an apartment, but did not move in because of cockroaches, so I called direct energy and canceled my service before it was even due to start.
I was assured that the order was canceled, and there would be zero fees associated with it.
Upon signing into my online account, it has always appeared that they did start service and did not cancel the order.
I have spoken to a dozen people, who have all told me that the above is true, that it was cancelled.
This morning I get an email stating I owe them $5.97 for 3 Days of service.
All of the following people assured me my account was never even started...Elder, Eddie, another woman I couldn't understand her name because she couldn't speak English very well, Maria, Yara, Raquel, Luis, Marshall, Jose, Carlos, and Teel.
I was even asked to give my entire social security number on more than one occasion, because no one can seem to find my account now.
Accountability needs to be had with people that tell you they're going to do something, and then do not.
I have excellent credit, and it's stuff like this that is very irritating. Not only have I spent many hours of my life on something that should have been handled right the first time, now I get it bill for an account that doesn't even exist?
I wanted to use this company for an upcoming apartment I am looking at, and I am second-guessing that right now.
Teel, from the executive team, assured me she will fix this problem and get back to me.
I will give it until tomorrow to see if she follows through. If not, I will call the Houston chronicle which they seem to take pride in being high on their list, and I will call the Better Business Bureau (if this is not resolved).
I have been extremely patient, but enough is enough.
In trying to sign into my online account, now it says they are working on things and you can't even sign in!
If people would just do what they say the first time, and have the integrity to do what they say they're going to do, things like this would not have to happen.
I've also been told many times that I was talking to a supervisor, just to find out they were not a supervisor!
I want the situation resolved immediately with direct energy, I was always a loyal customer who paid my bills on time, and I have referred them to many people.
All I want is for someone to fix my account showing that it never started, that I did cancel in a timely manner, and that my fees are $0.
This is just not acceptable and has become so stressful, and it ought not to be.
Hopefully, Teel will be able to resolve this issue.

What a NIGHTMARE
October 18th, 2021

Good afternoon. Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We are terribly sorry for the bad experience you have had. We care for you and we would love the opportunity to further investigate this matter and help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to reach us through any of our communication channels:
* Our Facebook team at https://www.facebook.com/directenergy/
* Our Twitter team at https://twitter.com/directenergy
* Or you can also chat with us at www.directenergy.com.
We will do our best to show you we care and to find the best solution in your case. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for this important feedback. Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds October 20th, 2021

I was NOT called back like I was told. I took it upon myself to find out who the CEO was and contacted their office.
They transferred me to Darlene in the escalation department. I went over all my issues with her and she stated she will have it resolved a week from Friday. Another concern I had is why their agents constantly ask for my social security number, and then transfer me. This is very suspicious to me. She assured me she will resolve this issue and that my account will be reflected to the correct information. Hopefully, a week from this Friday, I will hear that this account is fixed. Hopefully, one person will do what they say they will. I have not totally lost hope, and I will not let this rob me of my peace any longer :-)

What a NIGHTMARE Replies October 20th, 2021
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbeleivable

(1.4 / 5)

  I just purchased a new car.
Purchasing the new car was a much simpler process than setting up an account with Constellation Energy .
The woman who helped me set up my account was very courteous and profesional.
The process of Constellation Energy is beyond belief.

David
September 21st, 2021

Constellation Logo

Constellation


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Make sure you renew or cancel before

(1.4 / 5)

  I received a bill for over $700 because I didnt respond to the letter that was mailed and theres nothing they can do to help me. On top of that, cancelling or renewing the policy can take 1-2 billing cycles and I may still receive bills that high until it takes effect. This is ripping people off charging 10.99 pkw. Are Roy kidding me!? This company is a joke and I do NOT recommend unless you are on top of knowing exactly when your service is due to renew. How can we rely solely on the mail to renew a contract!? A phone call seems more logical for a company if they care about their customers and want to continue to keep their business. Instead Im stuck with a house payment for my electric bill and possibly for 2 more months! Shame on Xoom

Jen
September 20th, 2021

XOOM Energy Logo

XOOM Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Experience with Direct Energy provider in Texas - Dallas

(1.4 / 5)

  We have been customers with Direct Energy for a number of years, at first the bills were acceptable, even though I noticed that they were continuously increasing.
I understand that the energy consumption changes and as of late living expenses have increased quite a lot. However, the last bill we received was for an unacceptable amount by any standard. I called customer service to understand what was going on, they told me that they had sent me a communication to renew the contract, and I never had any issues in the past with this. However, this time I did not receive any notice, I was receiving the bills regularly and also paying them regularly. The bill went up by nearly $200, in addition, the fees applied for electricity were much higher than usual. I spoke to customer service and they were not helpful at all, they just said they would deduct $50 from my bill and they could give me a slightly lower rate per kw. I was told that I would be contacted by a supervisor to see what could be done, and of course, that never happened.
I did some research online and also contacted friends with different energy providers and found that I was paying way much more for energy by comparison.
I switched provider right away, Direct Energy has one of the highest rates with absolutely no difference in service compared to some providers with lower rates.
You just need to do some research and verify which energy companies have good rates and good reviews, it takes some time but it will save you money.
At this point, I would definitely not recommend Direct Energy.

Barbara
September 17th, 2021

Good afternoon, Barbara. We are sorry to hear about the confusion that occurred with your rate. It does sound like your account had a fixed-rate contract, which expired, and the account transitioned to a month-to-month, variable-rate plan. We certainly never want our customers to be surprised at the rate they are paying, nor do we want to transition a fixed-rate account to a variable rate unexpectedly. For these reasons, and as required by law, we send out end-of-term notices to any account that has a fixed-rate contract expiring within the next 30-60 days (the requirements on when the letters must be sent vary by state). As a resident of the state of TX, you would have received your notice as part of your monthly billing and you will also check the variable rate on the current bill. The end of terms notice would have included the expiration date of the current contract, instructions on how to renew into another fixed-rate contract (either by phone, chat, or via your online account), and the important disclosure that states if we do not hear from you by the expiration date, the account will automatically move to the month to month, variable rate pricing. Our goal is always to operate as transparently as possible and in the best interests of our customers. We regret that you had a less than outstanding experience surrounding your renewal, but we look forward to the privilege of work on your account and provide you a solution. Thank you for the feedback, and have a wonderful weekend! - Sophie / Digital Care

Direct Energy Responds September 17th, 2021
Direct Energy Logo

Direct Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unethical business practices

(1.4 / 5)

  I called the customer service department about the outrageous power bill just delivered to me.

So they almost triple my kwh rate and I wanted to know why. The customer service rep told me that my fixed rate contract had run out and you automatically switched me to a variable rate plan at a % of their choosing. Which would havent have been the huge problem if your company didnt take advantage of the situation and there customers.

I have shopped all the other energy supplies in my area and my new rate is double other variable rate and almost triple other fixed rate contracts. When I asked how they could justify such an outrageous increase way outside the current market value/rate i received a we provide clean energy as an answer. Thats just unethical and a Lie. Clean energy is just a competitive and in a lot of way cheaper then alternative energy sources. I have a list of other 100% renewal and clean energy providers at a variable rate way under theirs. I think using clean energy as a front to take advantage of customer to be a very unethical business practice. I have documented the other rates from competing supplier (both variable and fixed).

I believe companies such as Clean Sky who perform unethical business practices and take advantage of your customer need to be held accountable. These unethical and immoral practices need to be investigated and shared so customers know who they are dealing with especially in times of nation crisis like the pandemic and extreme weather events. Making their business practices even more unacceptable and in my view should be criminal

Andrew
September 15th, 2021

Thank you for your review, Andrew. We truly apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Our goal is always to ensure that our customers have a positive experience. It is never our intention for a customer to have a high rate. An attempted to contact you in resolving your concerns but was unsuccessful. Your concerns have been escalated to our Customer Concerns department. Please contact them at your earliest convenience and refer to this review at customerconcerns@cleanskyenergy.com. We look forward to hearing back from you.

CleanSky Energy Responds September 16th, 2021
CleanSky Energy Logo

CleanSky Energy


Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions