Read Stream Energy Reviews


Stream Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 2.0 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.9 of 5.

Stream Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

431 Reviews and Replies for Stream Energy


Simply The BEST!!!!!

(5 / 5)

  I'm not sure about these other reviews, but my experience with this company was one of the best! Not only were their rates one of the lowest, they also had great customer service and patience. I will definitely recommend this company to anyone. Thank you.

Satisfied Customer
April 20th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY FAR AWAY. SCAM!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I've had Stream for a few years because a friend is a Stream "rep". Low and behold when my plan expired and ZERO notification was sent, it doubled. I called on March 17th to switch plans. They didn't BOTHER TO SEND IT TO PPL UNTIL APRIL 6TH!!!! I'm now at a higher rate, they did nothing to address their "supervisor" who spoke broken English could barely explain why.

"Just wait another month and it should be back to your normal rate." MEANWHILE THEY ARE RIPPING ME OFF. I was also told they only contact the power company once a month and I missed "their window" so because of this scam company, my bill has doubled. They make zero effort. I was escalated multiple times to which nothing happened. But I'm sure they will reply on here acting like they care. If they did, I wouldn't have paid 2x the amount for 2 months waiting for them to do their job.

Rick
April 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Real Deal

(5 / 5)

  After decades with the old gas Monopoly, we switched to Stream in
May of 2008, after a friend recommended them..As a result, weve saved thousands over the past 13 years, by paying a much lower rate than before, & Stream even helped us get a significant Senior discount on our monthly base service charges, that we didnt even know was an option. We gladly recommend Stream to all our friends & neighbors..

Saving BIG in South GA
April 1st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pathetic

(1 / 5)

  Like others, all of a sudden our bill doubled. They said it was accurate. We have never had a bill almost 500.00 in the middle of summer. They said it was because we average bill. We have done that with every company in the 30 years we have lived here. NEVER had a bill this high. Be careful, they dont warn you when its time to renew and you get whatever rate hike they see fit.

Pissed
March 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubled the rate

(1 / 5)

  No contact from them letting me know my contract was up. Jacked up price 100%. Absolutely terrible company to deal with. The CSRs are not helpful and management hides behind them. As close to a scam as I have seen.

Ed
March 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

wrost place to get service.

(1 / 5)

  Very arrogant customer service. kind of Money scam. Charges you $150 for the cancellation fee

Nilesh Chavada
February 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New Service Order

(1 / 5)

  I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.

C Kaye
February 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

(1 / 5)

  I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!

NICOLE COX
February 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.

STREAM ELECTRICITY
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Collections??

(1 / 5)

  We cancelled our service and paid our final bill on the phone with customer service. Several months later, our account went to collections claiming we owe them money. Our account has said we owe $0 since we cancelled. Where did this charge come from? NEVER USE STREAM. THEY'LL DESTROY YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

Angry Customer
January 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service

(1 / 5)

  The worst customer service ! They was taking my money for an old account which had no balance and not the new one and wont refund me my money . The supervisor was horrible and would not transfer me to his boss . Do not use there services

Kim
December 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

California to Texas mover

(1 / 5)

  I had no idea how to choose an energy company this one was reccomended. Paying like 15 cents plus additional TPU charges. My bill has been 2X higher. They offer me a renewal at 10.2 cents but still higher than what the current low is for what I'm using which is like 8.8 with no hidden fees. Not the lowest out there. Using the advertised energy finders are all money makers. Finally I clicked on a link from my local city that sent me called power to choose. Free at last.

CAtoTXMover
December 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE DONT

(1 / 5)

  Omg..Where do I begin..I'm a previous customer of Stream Energy and I must say, what a terrifying experience Its been with these fools...first off when I first signed up they tied me into a 3YEAR contract ( that should have been a red flag) and was told that the cancellation fee was gonna be $300 (another red flag)...I live in a 800 square feet...1 bedroom apt..my Bill's were consistently over $200/month..
I called and called trying to find out why my bill was so high. But everytime I called, the customer service rep would beat around the bush trying to offer me $10 off etc...I finally switched to another provider cuz I was being suffocated to death with the BRUTALITY of the bills...I recently got a nasty notice from these damn fools threatening me that they are gonna send me to collections and ruin my credit..I switched services barely a month ago and the final bill just came in the mail today..not only could i not believe the final bill ($669), but the letter was so nasty and threatening my credit..I'm getting ready to bring them to the attention of the media so everyone will know how nasty they are...Please DO NOT GO WITH Stream Energy...They will RUIN YOU..also spread the word to everyone one you know..I want these devils to get HIT where it hurts..IN THE POCKETS.

Dj
November 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam if I ever knew one!

(1 / 5)

  This has been the worst experience ever with any electrical company. They lock you into a contract and then the prices begin to fluctuate. We also dont get the regular bill but always get the disconnect notice that adds on an extra $20 to the bill every month. I wish we wouldve never signed up for this company now were stuck paying $300 to get out of a contract which will honestly just save us mor money in the long run because thats how much service is costing us every two months. Do your research and choose another company!

Taylor
November 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

VERY INCONSIDERATE AND INSENSITIVE COMPANY STREAM

(1 / 5)

  MY HUSBAND SIGNED UP WITH THIS LOUSY COMPANY WITH INEXPERIENCE WORKERS THAT CUT OFF OUR HOT WATER OVER $56.00 THEN WE SET UP APPOINTMENT 11/6/2020 TO RECONNECT SERVICE 4PM-8PM ON THAT DAY AND THEY CANCEL OUR OUR ENTIRE ORIGINAL APPOINTMENT THEN STATED TO US THEY MADE US DIFFERENT APPOINTMENT FOR 11/10/2020 TO RECONNECT THAT WE HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF SO NOW IT WILL BE JUST ABOUT A WEEK WITH NO HOT WATER AND WHEN YOU HAVE NO HOT WATER I AM TOLD YOU HAVE NO HEATER AS WELL I HAVE NEVER BEEN SO DISSATISFIED WITH A COMPANY BEFORE LIKE I AM WITH THIS COMPANY. DO NOT PURCHASE FROM THIS COMPANY.

INCONSIDERATE COMPANY STREAM
November 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!!!!!! I HATE THEM!!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  They are fucking rip-offs!!!!!! They will cut your service for a small amount just so they can charge their reconnect fee and at first it was 30 dollar and now they are telling me its 50 fucking dollars!!!! They are fucking rip-offs and I hope this whole fucking company burns to the ground!!!!! They take your money and don't give a fuck about the customers!!!!! I HATE THEM!!!!!!!!

FUCK YOU!!!!!!!!!!
October 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cheaters

(1 / 5)

  After 7/8 years of being without this company, they decide to call me and say I have a outstanding balance and that they would go to court if I didnt pay it. This is absolutely ridiculous because i paid all of the bills.

Nic
October 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

requesting new service

(1.2 / 5)

  on hold at time of this writing for over 3 hours, still holding, spoke with DeAnthony, Jose, Sewena, Carlos, Amanda, John, Kevin. Still no service, holding to get account established. I don't know what has happened to this company.

willie Ruiz
October 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No consideration; Worst company

(1 / 5)

  They have no consideration for humanity. They will turn your gas off without needing you there but when youve paid them in full and its time to be reconnected, they need access to your home. Had the wrong phone number listed so never received a called about the gas being disconnected. Im 81 years old and that have left with without gas for days.

L.M.
September 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  I called and was insulted with very devious language by a person that was clearly not in the U.S as he stated it laughing while i asked him to say the least when the terrible service was over he told me to go suck a dick bu the way their customer service reps are in Mexico not in Dallas

Mark Schakleford
September 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


Stream Energy is a leading energy and connected life services provider and direct selling company. In March 2016, they received the “2016 Most Innovative Marketer of the Year Award” by the Energy Marketing Conference, which took place in Houston, TX this week. This award is given to an energy provider that makes notable strides in creating new programs, products, bundled services, and improved customer experiences.

Founded in 2005, the Dallas-based company's innovative use of direct selling revolutionized the energy industry, generating more than $8 billion in total revenue in 12 years and transforming it into one of the largest direct selling companies in the global energy market.

Stream's Connected Services (Energy Services, Wireless Services, Protective Services, and Home Services) work seamlessly together to fit customers' on-the-go lifestyles, keeping them connected, wherever they are. Stream Energy currently provides Energy Services in Texas, Georgia, Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Washington, D.C., and New York. All of Stream's other services are available nationwide.




Example Bill
loading...