Read Stream Energy Reviews


Stream Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Stream Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their billing & account management system, rated at 1.8 of 5.

Stream Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

441 Reviews and Replies for Stream Energy


Not worth it

(1.6 / 5)

  I noticed my bill increased even though I was supposed to be on a fixed rate plan. I called and tried to move my service and was on hold two hours before I decided to hang up and try again later. NO ONE should have to wait 2 hours and still not able to receive help. I'm truly disappointed.

Unhappy customer
July 29th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolutely Horrible

(1.2 / 5)

  There is no way to pay online. The phone system is a NIGHTMARE. Sometimes you get friendly Texans who have to transfer you to your state (mine is Georgia) but often you get angry outsourced assholes who demand information they do not need. If my apartment complex did not use them, and force me to use them, I would never use this service. Stream Energy is a horrible company to work with, and it's honestly not worth the frustration. If you're looking for a good gas company, try to find one in your state that uses competent people.

Angry
July 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

All I can say is scam artists!!

(1 / 5)

  I truly think this is a scam, and taking advantage of people's money

Aspin Hall
July 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor customer service

(1.6 / 5)

  Called and tried to have the service transferred to my new address but was told that service was not available. I then requested to have power disconnected at the old location. unknowingly this was only a sales consultant . I was never told otherwise and considered it taken care of. Until i get a shock on my credit report for 146.00 dollars. after several attempts to get a certified customer rep I was told I never called to disconnect. I then told the rep that if I had not called how would I know they didn't offer service at my current location The only answer as I'm sorry Please be aware this company makes it hard to get the power turned off Its almost like the dish network equipment scam . were they disconnect and 3 months later bill you 500 dollars for equipment.

James Marling
June 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT WORTH IT!!

(1 / 5)

  You can buy all the games you want but what they dont tell you is that you need a certain server to play some games!! THERE ARE NO REFUNDS!! and you wont find out what severs you need TILL AFTER you make a purchase!!

DJ143D
June 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

no loyalty

(2.6 / 5)

  I am in the same boat as everyone else. 14 years with this company, rates always went up. I was lazy and didn't shop them , but this was the last straw. my rate was more than double than the market . I switched with 2 months left on the contract. they charged me the full cancellation fee, I called and asked for consideration or even competitive rates and got nothing There are better company

dt from Katy
May 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shady Business

(1.2 / 5)

  I previously had service with Stream that ended in 2017, it is now May of 2021. A random bill from Stream shows up on my credit report. 4 YEARS LATER!! I call to investigate. They say that I didn't cancel my service. Oh, really? Just so happens that I have the cancellation email. Does that matter?? No, they say my account was closed for lack of payment. BS! And it's for almost double my average bill during that time. Big Businesses are nothing more than crooks. So, my email is the same as it was then, but you don't email me to say that I have an outstanding bill, instead you go to the trouble to hire the worst rated collection agency I could find online, split what you say I owe with them, instead of contacting me directly?? Then their comeback is.. we sent you a final bill to the address of service. Geniuses aren't they?? The address where "I" cancelled service. After working very hard to improve my credit score, they managed to drop my score 60 points!! 4 years later!!

Damon
May 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not the best decision

(1.6 / 5)

  We switched to STREAM this past season. We feel it may have been a mistake signing on with STREAM and we will most likely pay to break our 12-month contract unless STREAM can get our account information straightened out. Although others who provided reviews, have had their gas cut off, we have not had that issue. Our issues with have been with account services. Our info was entered incorrectly which has caused issues in accessing our account with customer service. STREAM only use SS # for customer verification and that number was entered incorrectly by the representative when I originally signed on. In addition, the website is glitchy, lack of knowledge with customer service representatives, and there is a language barrier with most customer service representatives. The customer service 'managers' do a better job than the representatives but they seem limited as well and a bit short tempered stating they are frustrated with the situation as well. Indicates to me that the problems are more internal. STREAM has been in business since 2004/05 one would think they would have their act together. I would suggest staying away from STREAM for now. There are several other companies in the Atlanta area with similar rates that are worth looking into and have less issues. I wish I had researched reviews prior to signing.

K. Hunt
May 12th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing totally screwed up

(2.2 / 5)

  The internet site has not worked for months in taking my payment. It says the balance due is zero which of course is not true. I have to pay by phone and that takes substantially more time. I have asked them to fix the internet site repeatedly.

David
May 11th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BAD COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  How are they charging me for a week of no power during the winter storm that we had in February. I have gone back and forth with them to no help. Then he tells me that they this smart meter and if I wanted to I could go read it to see for myself. HOWWWWW! My meter box has a lock on it due to neighbors had before and so I never removed it. Ugh, I am so done with this company. I am changing them and please if anyone is reading this please choose someone else.

Lynn
May 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Simply The BEST!!!!!

(5 / 5)

  I'm not sure about these other reviews, but my experience with this company was one of the best! Not only were their rates one of the lowest, they also had great customer service and patience. I will definitely recommend this company to anyone. Thank you.

Satisfied Customer
April 20th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY FAR AWAY. SCAM!!!!

(1 / 5)

  I've had Stream for a few years because a friend is a Stream "rep". Low and behold when my plan expired and ZERO notification was sent, it doubled. I called on March 17th to switch plans. They didn't BOTHER TO SEND IT TO PPL UNTIL APRIL 6TH!!!! I'm now at a higher rate, they did nothing to address their "supervisor" who spoke broken English could barely explain why.

"Just wait another month and it should be back to your normal rate." MEANWHILE THEY ARE RIPPING ME OFF. I was also told they only contact the power company once a month and I missed "their window" so because of this scam company, my bill has doubled. They make zero effort. I was escalated multiple times to which nothing happened. But I'm sure they will reply on here acting like they care. If they did, I wouldn't have paid 2x the amount for 2 months waiting for them to do their job.

Rick
April 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Real Deal

(5 / 5)

  After decades with the old gas Monopoly, we switched to Stream in
May of 2008, after a friend recommended them..As a result, weve saved thousands over the past 13 years, by paying a much lower rate than before, & Stream even helped us get a significant Senior discount on our monthly base service charges, that we didnt even know was an option. We gladly recommend Stream to all our friends & neighbors..

Saving BIG in South GA
April 1st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pathetic

(1 / 5)

  Like others, all of a sudden our bill doubled. They said it was accurate. We have never had a bill almost 500.00 in the middle of summer. They said it was because we average bill. We have done that with every company in the 30 years we have lived here. NEVER had a bill this high. Be careful, they dont warn you when its time to renew and you get whatever rate hike they see fit.

Pissed
March 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubled the rate

(1 / 5)

  No contact from them letting me know my contract was up. Jacked up price 100%. Absolutely terrible company to deal with. The CSRs are not helpful and management hides behind them. As close to a scam as I have seen.

Ed
March 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

wrost place to get service.

(1 / 5)

  Very arrogant customer service. kind of Money scam. Charges you $150 for the cancellation fee

Nilesh Chavada
February 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

New Service Order

(1 / 5)

  I was informed that because I am a disabled Senior Citizen on SSDI I could qualify for a waived deposit. I provided the information they requested, and it has been almost a month, and they are saying my account is not active because the information I provided is not what they need even though I sent what they requested of me. Stream is trying to impose a 1/2 deposit fee on me in Texas during the Texas Storm Power Outage clean-up. I do not feel Stream is operating in integrity. I was disconnected from the call, and not able to fill out my survey at the end of my call.

C Kaye
February 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY EVER!!! AVOID AT ALL COST!!!

(1 / 5)

  I just got off the phone with this HORRIBLE company and its the BIGGEST SCAM EVER!!! I just moved back from OK after being gone from the state for 7 yrs and never had bills as high as I have them now. My bill for Jan was $272.00...HOWWWW???!!!! No one lives in my home except me and I work 60 HOURS/ WEEK. I signed up for weekly stats of my electricity and noticed that my daily price NEVER CHANGED....EVEN WHEN I WASNT HOME!!! I turn everything off when I leave and go to work. My tv stays off. I dont have a washer/dryer, and I turn the heating system OFF WHEN I LEAVE!!! The only thing running is what I cant turn off which is the fridge and the stove. After my bill from last month, I decided to take pictures and realized that my meter is SOMEHOW still being able to calculate 30/40 kwh for the day even when NOTHING IS ON!!! HOW IS THAT!!! The new bill came out today and it was $250.00. Now if Im turning everything off when I leave, how is it that the bill only went down $20.00? When I called in today, I was told that Im being charged a competitive rate for my area. Why is that when Im on FLAT RATE BILLING?!!!! Everytime, I asked the representative for their names and ID numbers, I got the run around. One dude transferred me because Im asked him that. Why would transfer someone and your job is to provide your name ANYWAY??!!! RED FLAGS ALL THROUGHOUT THE CONVERSATION. The lady told me that in order to get an extension for service, I had to pay $80.00 today to get an extension until Tuesday when I got paid after 5 pm. When I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, he said $8.52 to get an extension until Tuesday. RED FLAG!!!! When they turn your service off, its an automatic $50.00 to your bill. They are also turning my lights off in the cold weather. Its going to be in the negative here in Texas Monday night...I will be in the dark by noon on Tuesday if I cant pay my bill and I dont get paid until after 5pm. This is the worst company ever. You know people scamming when you cant get simple information such as their names and IDs to verify their information. If I want my meter read, its my RESPONSIBILTY to call ONCOR MYSELF, yet STREAM EBNERGY SAID THAT IT WOULD BE A $60 TO $100 CHARGE IF THEY COME OUT!!! How in the hell you gone charge me for something that I HAVE TO DO MYSELF???!!! I hope that this company goes out of business, but hey wont. All these electric companies and energy sources are in it together. This is ridiculous and for a single person like me thats having to pay a competitve rate when I dont have a FULL FAMILY IN MY HOME LIKE OTHERS is baffling to me. Why did I sign up for a flat rate then. I hope that Ill be able to sue for turnign my lights off in inclement weather...Screw this Company!!! I hope my review STOPS PEOPLE FROM GETTING THEM!!! Single people with no children DONT GET ANY BREAKS. Im paying for other peoples household with that competitive rate bs...NOT COOL AT ALL...I signed up for a FLAT RATE!!!

NICOLE COX
February 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE ELECTRCITY COMPANY

(1 / 5)

  I'm new to Texas and cut the electricity on in 22 September and I did the option to where I pay the $200 deposit in 3 payments along with the bill ( the provided that option due to being in the military). A week later I received an email stating I asked for my service to be cut off, and they sent me a bill of $200 and over. I called and spoke to several manager and they assured me it will be corrected. I asked how much would my bill be and they could never tell me. They never called me and updated me on anything and I had a $400 bill to pay in December. Now in 22 January my bill is $230 with late fees and everything, in which I paid the other balance in full already. The company is a rip off and I will be disconnecting my service with them.

STREAM ELECTRICITY
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Collections??

(1 / 5)

  We cancelled our service and paid our final bill on the phone with customer service. Several months later, our account went to collections claiming we owe them money. Our account has said we owe $0 since we cancelled. Where did this charge come from? NEVER USE STREAM. THEY'LL DESTROY YOUR CREDIT WITHOUT ANY WARNING.

Angry Customer
January 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price


Stream Energy is a leading energy and connected life services provider and direct selling company. In March 2016, they received the “2016 Most Innovative Marketer of the Year Award” by the Energy Marketing Conference, which took place in Houston, TX this week. This award is given to an energy provider that makes notable strides in creating new programs, products, bundled services, and improved customer experiences.

Founded in 2005, the Dallas-based company's innovative use of direct selling revolutionized the energy industry, generating more than $8 billion in total revenue in 12 years and transforming it into one of the largest direct selling companies in the global energy market.

Stream's Connected Services (Energy Services, Wireless Services, Protective Services, and Home Services) work seamlessly together to fit customers' on-the-go lifestyles, keeping them connected, wherever they are. Stream Energy currently provides Energy Services in Texas, Georgia, Pennsylvania, Maryland, New Jersey, Washington, D.C., and New York. All of Stream's other services are available nationwide.




Example Bill
loading...