Read Spark Energy Reviews


Spark Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Spark Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.8 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.7 of 5.

Spark Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.8 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

155 Reviews and 78 Replies for Spark Energy


No customer loyalty offer

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been with Spark for over 5 years. Our usage is usually under 100Kwts and Spark was charging us more to use LESS power. They would not offer us a lower price contract. Why should we be penalized to use less electricity...see ya Spark!

Sugar Gal
August 7th, 2015

Thank you so much for sharing. We would like to speak with you and review your account and the options available to you. Please contact us at 1-877-547-7272 1-877-547-7275 between the hours of 7am -7pm CT M-F and on Saturday 7-4pm CT so that we may further assist.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No loyalty no call back

(1.4 / 5)

  After 8 years with Spark I noticed my rate had increased (Quadrupled). I called to discuss the issue and was told someone would call me in 24-48 hours, that didn't happen. So I had to call them back and after going through the very lengthily verification process of who I am, we finally discussed my issue. Apparently my contact had lapsed and they allegedly sent me a renewal notice, though I never received one. After 8 years of service they could not do anything about the increase in the billing rate unless I signed up for another 1 year term, which is not possible because the home is for sale which I explained. This was also mentioned when I added my new home with Spark, they just don't care, so I will now switch both homes to another provider.

Hopefully I can find a company that actually rewards loyalty, though from the reviews I have read I think that might be doubtful.

Joseph
June 23rd, 2015

This is not at all the type of customer experience that we would want you or anyone to have. We would like to apologize for this inconvenience and at least review your issue to in an effort reach an amicable resolution. When time permits please contact us at oopcx@sparkenergy.com.

Spark Energy Responds August 25th, 2015
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sprk is a Mess - Customer Service Problems

(1.4 / 5)

  Spark has completely messed up our account. First, our account was inproperly terminted by mistake (somone else gave a wrong address). Our power ended up getting cut off and Spark charged us a $250 termination charge when we never terminated. Then when the incorrect switch got switched back to them, they did not reactivate our old account and started charging us double our contracted rate. We have spent hours on the phone with these people trying got get it straight. They say everything will be OK, but it just keeps getting messed up.

Bob
May 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very deceptive marketing

(1.3 / 5)

  These folks have very deceptive marketing. Watch your backs or you will be burned like I got burned. I signed up for a 12-month fixed rate plan. After a year it converts to a variable rate plan. No big deal, right? WRONG!! Their variable plan is now at .87 per term, about double that of the competition! What is even more interesting is that once I learned this I called them and pretended to be a new customer. When I asked about the price of the variable plan I was told .535 (still high, but not outrageous). When I told them I was an existing customer paying .87 the rep said he made a mistake on the quote. BALONEY! They got caught and now they're trying to cover their tracks. Those customers ending their 12 month guarantee should give Spark their 30 day notice and run away. This company hopes you will do nothing, and get socked. There are lots of reputable companies out there ... this is not one of them.

Ron B
March 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible

(1.3 / 5)

  Billing is the worst ever, they cant get it right, send you an email stating one thing and do another, NOT just once every other month. Sent all their customers today a disconnect notice that was an ERROR I cant wait till my contact is up and I can run away from here.

Pam
October 7th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Gassed by Spark Energy

(1.3 / 5)

  After claiming at least a 5% savings compared to PG&E, charges for gas about the same for first 6 mos. Next 6 mos. Spark began charging about 50% MORE than PG&E (without notice). What a rip-off!

Very unethical company.

Robert Yolles
May 1st, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Excellent choice once - No more

(1.3 / 5)

  Careful, Spark Energys notification to renew is in small print and only
once. If you miss it and do not renew your fix rate plan, they'll charge
you at daily rate. No further notifications.
Spark Energy used to be customer friendly: After the first year we
received a renewal email and we renewed. Worked like a charm. This
year no email, a small note on my invoice once, which I missed as I
pay the amount listed in the email notification. Customer service was
not responsive to my complaint: I am responsible to renew. True, but
a questionable business practice nevertheless.
Of course this is a blessing in disguise, because whereas Spark Energy
used to be the most affordable for green energy. Now they list as the
most expensive. I am saving 40%!! by moving on.

Moving on
January 7th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Spark Energy is shady

(1.2 / 5)

  I will not advice anyone to use this company, they are shady. I don't even know how my energy services got changed to them. I live in a two bedroom apartment in Arlington Heights, Illinois and before my energy bill was transferred to them, my average consumption was 699kwh and when they took over it immediately went up to 2155kwh without any change in usage, season or added home equipment. Also, their rate was double from what I was paying before (0.063900) to 0.11870 and so my bill became outrageous. I called them several times but they couldn't explain how they became my supplier or why my consumption suddenly went up. I was happy with my former supplier whose rates were even less than that of ComEd itself. Like I said, I don't know how they were able to remove my former supplier and had their name on my bill.

Remi
February 7th, 2019

We can understand how alarming it is to see a new supplier suddenly appear on your electric bill. Can you please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com so we can review your enrollment details and see how we can assist you? We look forward to assisting you.

Spark Energy Responds March 26th, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Just another number

(1.2 / 5)

  I have been a Spark Customer for over 5 years. Due to auto draft I have never been late on a payment. The three times in my tenure with Spark that I have had to call them for assistance however, has left me just mystified at how lazy and uncaring they are for their customers. You absolutely will be just another number and they will not have any concern over how they feel you are treated by their employees.

Ian
May 23rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates Nearly Tripled

(1.2 / 5)

  Prior to moving to Texas, I set up a six month
account with auto draft for reduced fixed
rates. When the contract expired, I signed a
new for a similar rate plan. Given the bill was
on auto draft and I'd yet to have a problem, I
didn't check the price per kilowatt hour after
the first new bill.
Recently, when I did, I noticed I'd been billed
nearly TRIPLE what the agreed upon rate was for
four months in a row. They were unwilling to
work with me on their error, given said bills
were already paid.
Service is being switched to a different
provider tomorrow morning.
I will go off the grid before I use them again.

Cher
October 23rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive last year, new monthly fees

(1.2 / 5)

  I give them an A minus on order/billing/service. Thought i would be forever a loyal customer.
12 months later... now they have $8.99/month fee and rates are not competitive either. Had to find another company.

Raj Lal
April 18th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No good.

(1.2 / 5)

  This company treats returning customers terribly. After a year, they switch you to a high variable rate with a monthly charge if you do not sign on for another year. And, if you decide to sign, they will not refun the overcharge for the month you did not realize they had switched your rate. Plus, if you ask to speak to a supervisor, they fill out a request and tell you to expect a call in 24-48 hours. Not pleasant.

Jill
February 9th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off artists

(1.1 / 5)

  Signed up with them - rates increased from what I was paying utility.....called to cancel and got big run around.......had to call three times to get it done...NEVER AGAIN ! !

Bob Olson
December 14th, 2011

Hi Bob- Sorry to hear about your frustration, and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We strive for 1st-call resolution, and if you can remember the name of the representative(s) you spoke with, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com so we can address them directly.NOTE: If you attempting to switch providers at the same address, we actually don't have the power to cancel your account. You would need to call another provider and sign up with them, and your account with Spark Energy would automatically be canceled. If you were attempting to cancel your account because you were moving to a new address, it sounds like we dropped the ball and we apologize. If there's anything else we can do for you or any other questions we can answer, please let us know at social@sparkenergy.com. Thank You.

Spark Energy Responds January 5th, 2012
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculous surcharges-new customers, aweful cust service

(1.1 / 5)

  I had to go to another provider (there are many other better options)since Spark has unreasonable surcharges for new customers. All I was doing was changing the name on the account. I lived in the house for 3 years, but still had to set it up as a new service under my name so they wanted to slap on the $8.99 monthly service fee if I don't use 1000kwh per month. Then when I tried to get their customer service to help change the cancellation request my wife sent in, I was told to 'hope' that the electricity is not turned off because the request takes 3 days to process. They didn't really even try to help, they just told me that things coundn't be done. This is what happens when a company is making too much money to care.

Jay
October 27th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Well, better than Abacus...

(1.1 / 5)

  We originally had a contract with the infamous
Abacus. Abacus was so badly managed that they
thankfully folded, selling our contract to
Spark.

Spark IS better than Abacus, I'll give it that.
However, we're obviously being overcharged -
10.1c/kwh isn't terrible, until our 630sqft
apartment somehow started using up over 900kwh
per month - implying an average power draw of
over a kilowatt! Including while we're
sleeping, and AT WORK. Of course, conveniently
for Spark, this sudden spike in energy usage
began exactly when they started billing us.

Now we're trying to switch providers, and
they're being very reluctant about giving up
our deposit. My wife paid the deposit
originally to Abacus almost two years ago, and
Spark acknowledges that it was transferred to
them with our contract. However, they have no
record of it - WE HAVE TO PROVIDE PROOF THAT WE
PAID A DEPOSIT BEFORE THEY WILL RETURN IT.
Maybe they should hire an accountant to keep
track of that. Or maybe buy a copy of Excel.

Ian
July 25th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Harrassing phone calls

(1.1 / 5)

  My account with Spark Energy was set up wrong from the beginning. Throughout the 4 weeks it took to get it straight, I received a bill showing a past due amount and a late fee that I disputed. Before I could get the corrected bill, I started getting harrassing phone calls both on my home phone and on my cell phone - 8 to 10 per day - regarding the past due amount. Explaining the circumstances of the account to the callers did no good. Even with the account paid in full, I still received hourly phone calls for two days after the payment was made. I have two other Spark accounts that I will now cancel. This was the worst experience I have had in years with an electrical provider.

M. Webster
November 8th, 2010

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Back again? How long will they last this time?

(1.1 / 5)

  Wow how quickly we forget. Well I was one of the Spark Energy good customers a couple a years ago that was dropped and assigned to the Provider of Last Resort without notice when they went "bankrupt" just in the Houston market. Now that the rates are low they are back but what happens when the rates go back up will they drop their customers again?

Mark
October 7th, 2010

Spark Energy has provided electric service in the state of Texas for several years and has not gone out of business, or had the need to drop any customer to the Provider of Last Resort. We believe that there is some confusion or misunderstanding regarding this review and would be happy to review the comments further to clarify the matter. Please feel free to email us at customercare@sparkenergy.com with your account details.

Spark Energy Responds October 18th, 2010
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

worst company ever

(1 / 5)

  the title says it all. customer for 13 years and paid average 30 cent per
when I called customer service they said yes you are not on a competitive plan and said they had no idea how to help me. average summer bill was 500 for a 2000 sq ft home with new ac unit on 78. total rip off and audacious. companies like this are the reason deregulation should not be choice. 13 years of overpaying by 90% for electric

be informed
June 10th, 2021

We're sorry to hear that you have had this experience and we'd definitely like to review as our agents are trained to assist all customers. Please email us at officeofthepresident@sparkenergy.com and include your detailed concerns along with your account information. Thank you.

Spark Energy Responds June 15th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fraud

(1 / 5)

  Spake energy have been taking money from my account without my knowledge. Requested to cancel the service and still sending bills for close to $500 every Month. Will see them in court.

Keshari
February 24th, 2021

We're sorry to hear of your experience. Our Office of the President has reviewed your account and already addressed your concerns with you.

Spark Energy Responds April 13th, 2021
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disgusting Scam AVOID!

(1 / 5)

  Just terrible. Installed my meter on September 16th (today is October 2nd) and still not connected to my account. After 6 calls and 4 hours of lies and buck passing, it's still not connected and the tariff they have provided comes out at TWICE the cost of other companies. Website wont allow me to register and gives an "oops, something went wrong" on which ever day I try. This is truly a criminal scam and fortunately I have recorded ALL of my calls and their lies. Finally, I asked to be switched to a billing account and was told the 'collections' department would be in touch"...surprise..nothing. They never call back and always need chasing and it only ever results in empty promises. The worst energy company ever.!!! Im on hold again as we speak. I wouldn't even give them 1 Star if there was an option!

Paul-S
October 2nd, 2020

Hello Paul. While we are sorry to hear of your experience, we believe that you may be referring to Spark Energy Ltd, which is in the UK and not affiliated with our company here in the United States. We hope that you can resolve your concerns with Spark Energy Ltd and this review can be removed as we are not affiliated.

Spark Energy Responds October 7th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...