Read SFE Energy Reviews


SFE Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for SFE Energy are their customer service, rated at 2.2 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 2.1 of 5.

SFE Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

78 Reviews and Replies for SFE Energy


Good experience

(4.4 / 5)

  Had a lady knock on my door and explain options to lock in my electricity rate, overall good experience and hopefully will save some money

James
September 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good Option for Natural Gas Price Protection

(4.4 / 5)

  Locked in to one monthly fee for my natural gas which cover me up to 750 therms per year which in California ias about all I use.

William Fraser
August 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing

(4.2 / 5)

  Sfe is one of the second suppliers I know that offers unlimited gas usage !! Thank for hiring respectful young people to help the community

Experience
November 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Kids!

(4.2 / 5)

  Sfe energy has helped me out so much ! I have a family of 5, my kids leave the lights on all the time No matter how many times I tell them to TURN IT OFF!! This young lady came to my door and explained to me how my usage wont matter .... I love it ...#forget the uneducated people

Adrian Marcelo
August 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Canceled next day

(2.2 / 5)

  Signed up thinking PGE had a new gas provider. Went online to research the company and found out they're not part of PGE. Figured my bill would be higher so canceled right away. I was not charged a cancellation fee.

ren
March 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not open the door for any SFE representatives!

(1.6 / 5)

  A young man showed up at my door claiming that he can work with me on lowering my PG&E bill. As the dumb and tired person that I am, I showed him my PG&E bill as he asked, and signed up for the service. I thought it was sus that I had to call through my phone to confirm my application. I quickly tried to finish up the entire visit and immediately called customer service to cancel my plan after reading all the horror stories online - especially on reddit. If you keep calling and cancel within the same day (Or in my case, 15 minutes after I shut the door), you should not have to pay any cancellation fees. I even called again to confirm that I wouldn't have to pay fees since I canceled within the same hour.

TDLR; Don't sign up. It's a scam. If you weren't thinking correctly at the time and signed up, cancel within the same day, and keep calling and emailing so you don't pay any fees.

San Jose Dummy
October 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience

(1.4 / 5)

  Do not ever go for SFE energy. The salesperson is just scamming you by saying that the total gas charges might reduce but they forget to mention the gas procurement charges which they charge every month. It shoots up the bill unnecessarily even if you are not using the gas every single month.
They will charge you a contract cancellation fee as well, which is totally unnecessary.
Stay away from SFE if your usage is minimal.

Adam
June 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CAUTION

(1.4 / 5)

  This company came to me door and assured me that if I move I could easily cancel this service with PECO. My husband was transferred and we moved out of state. I called SFE gas company and they denied this stating I would get billed for cancellation fees. I sent them a verification document where I moved and they still insist that extra fees for cancelling before contract ended (4yrs) would apply. CAUTION --Do not use or recommend this company

Mona Orsini
October 31st, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam!

(1.2 / 5)

  They came to my door and made it seem like they're partners with pseg, and as if they're just taking reading and keeping prices less. My bill was almost $300!!! They never mentioned anything bout cancelation fees which is like $86 for electric and another $86 for gas! I can't wait to cancel and just stick to pseg!

Amanda
August 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cancelation fee without consent

(1.2 / 5)

  Tale as old as time, had someone come to my door. Talk up this company by telling me Im gonna be saving money. Maybe I really signed up cause these people dont know how to take NO for answer when you try and nonchalantly get them off your door step. honestly everything was fine till I recently got a bill saying that they were charging me an arm and a leg for a cancellation fee...... and Im like WHO TOLD YOU I WANT TO CANCEL MY SERVICE?!?!! NOT ME? I call pge and they have no answer for me. I call sfe and Im left on this stupid holding line everytime I call.... I am unemployed. I cant afford for some money hungry company to randomly decide this is the one we are gonna fuck with and get more money out of. They got their cancellation fee from me today. Made my account go negative but they got it. TAKE MY MONEY SO I DONT HAVE TO DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY EVER AGAIN! DO NOT, DO NOT, SIGN UP FOR THIS COMPANY!!!! I will be putting the word out on next door to not talk to the representatives if they come to your door to sign you up for this crap.

Gennifer gee
February 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Horrible people its big scam, they got my information from somewhere I didnt even know I had account with SFE energy the supervision name ALI its criminal its said the salesperson name STEVEN SARACENU hes male deal regales about the account with SFE ENERGY they stole money from people, I talk to them on the phone very unprofessional what so funny I call PSE&G to tell them why none call or contact me about unusual move with SFE energy, they said its by the law they can do Whatever they want. Its fake company they dont deliver any supplies energy full of it, when I ever pay not more the 23$ with PSE&G now I end up pay almost 400$. Those people should go to jail, they rip off people

Nap April 28 2020
April 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Overall Scam. The say they are from your energy company and you must sign. I had the sales lady tell me what to say while on the phone so my service does not get interrupted. My bill went from $25 to $166. They should be investigated... also the 5* reviews on here are obviously fake...same review different dates and names...same name different review dates.

Ben Perry
January 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Nice,talk with the sales person,was not told that its 180.00 cancellation fee, so you gave me very little discount, i dont think so, please inform the contract to the people thats taking advantage of people that are on disability like me to scratch the bottom of my pockets and make ends meet, 180.00 no that's for my personal needs, your on my scam list,and you waited two hours before the other company eas to take over to key us know, you have to know that they're ate phone calls that we sit and wait for hours on hold ,another way to have us by the b
.... thanks but no thanks ex customer from Atwater Ca

Silva Victor/Cidalia
January 31st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company needs to be closed

(1 / 5)

  I worked for this company for a few days and they never paid me and they do not care about there employees they will have you working getting a heat stroke

Ray
July 23rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No customer service

(1 / 5)

  Made repeated attempts to contact this company. Was told by the person who pick up after being on hold for 40 minutes, that someone would call me back. No reply. This happened repeatedly. No service from them, disconnected. Of course now they get in touch with me with huge bill.

Never again
May 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rude!

(1 / 5)

  My father died 4 days ago, I told them this, they were still extremely rude and pushy. I finally had to shut the door in their face a second time to get them to leave me alone. I will never do business with them.

Michelle
May 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam scam scam!

(1 / 5)

  Person showed up at our door advising us that they are the new energy provider in my neighborhood. Sure, I could have questioned more. My bills went up, cancelling requires a ~$500 fee OR I have to stay with them for another billing cycle. I was manipulated and charged more than if I had stayed with BGE. Total ripoff.

JTho
April 29th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Review

(1 / 5)

  Huge scam! Dont even entertain these people when they come to your door. They pretended they were associated with PSE&G, asked me to sign my initials to provide permission for them to email me information, and then to participate in a phone call where the guy was giving me the answers I was supposed to say. Meanwhile in reality, they were signing me up for their service, not just taking my information to provide me with further details at a later time.

Danielle
April 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

total scam

(1 / 5)

  They came to my door claiming to be from my power company and said that by signing up with them I would be switching to green energy at no extra cost. My actual power company got in touch and told me it was a scam, so I cancelled. SFE sent me a $250 cancellation bill, which sucked, but I paid it to be done with them. Then, a month later, they sent me ANOTHER $25O bill for cancellation. I have not been able to get in touch with their customer service to resolve this yet, but you can bet they're going to get an earful.

total scam
March 7th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Run, do not sign up for service

(1 / 5)

  Reps knocked on my door, signed me up with promises of a lower bill.....WRONG my bill doubled so I cancelled my service but I was overcharged by $300! I want my money back and this company is located in CANADA not the USA

kdastonjr
March 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...