Read Public Power Reviews


Public Power Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Public Power are their billing & account management system, rated at 2.8 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 2.7 of 5.

Public Power Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

41 Reviews and Replies for Public Power


Customer Service Actually Helped

(3.4 / 5)

  I've had a couple of horrible experiences with some providers trying to get my bills fixed when they had errors on them. It seems to be a recurring issue. I had the same issue at Public Power, but I'll tell you what, instead of multiple calls to resolve the issue, Public Power managed to get everything fixed with just one phone call! I was thrilled, and for that alone Im happy with Public Power!

Glenn
October 21st, 2016

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pricing not clearly displayed

(2.6 / 5)

  Two weeks or so after enrolling in your program, I received an e-mail telling me I owed 139 on my account. At first I thought this to be a scam until I called customer service and was told the $139 was a sign-up fee which, the representative told me, was listed on the company website. Had I seen this listing, I wouldn't have chosen your company since the fee added to the per kw/h would have exceeded most, if not all of the other power providers cost in my area. The representative was kind enough to rescind the contract, and I apologize for not seeing the added fee in the sign-up. Thanks for your help

moore
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch the fine print

(1.8 / 5)

  I signed on for service. After signing I received notification that there was an an added charge. So much for the good price. I cancelled the service.

Elly
September 14th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

surprise charge for $149

(1.6 / 5)

  I do not remember seeing a 1 one fee for $149 that they charged me

Dan Rehrer
September 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

UNHELPFUL

(1.2 / 5)

  I was overcharged, did not receive my refund check. Its been over 6 weeks. I called multiple times spoke with multiple people. Not a single thing was solved with loose answers that beat around the question ! Supervisor was in a very long call and could not speak. SURPRISE! Absolutely pathetic.

UNHELPFUL AND OVERCHARGE
May 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I would not recommend Public Power

(1.2 / 5)

  we signed up for $.0699 rate for 33 months. 8 months later they lost track of our credit card for the $14.95 month fee for their service. 2 months after that, they said they left a voicemail message that we didn't get. 4 months after that they said they left another voicemail message that we did not get. 3 months later our rate doubled to $.12490 per kWh. They said that since we didn't answer their voice mail messages, that put us in default. No email message was received, only "voicemail messages". We get voice mail messages every day and we answer them. They did not call our number and did not notify us that we went into the default rate which was double our agreed to rate.

Public Power is not a good player
December 23rd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not switch to Public Power!

(1 / 5)

  Public Power offers very competitive rates to lure in customers for a short period of time. I am usually very vigilant when I try a new energy supplier. Due to personal circumstances, I was not able to watch my bills closely, and as soon as the fixed rate was up, they sent a letter that they putting me on a new fixed rate and gave me a couple of days to rescind the new rate agreement. As stated, I was not in the capacity of checking if the new rate was fair. So they locked me in to a new high rate (with a penalty to cancel mid term). I asked to cancel, but they refused to waive the cancellation fee.
It turns out that in just 4 months they over charged me more the $35 over the utility company.

They are totally unethical. Such an energy company should be penalized and discredited.

Actual numbers below:

Electric Billing PeriodESCO SUPPLIERESCO TOTALO&R TOTAL DIFFERENCE

FEBRUARY 16, 2021 - MARCH 16, 2021 (28 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$88.60 $81.87 +$6.73
JANUARY 15, 2021 - FEBRUARY 16, 2021 (32 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$121.57 $111.62 +$9.95
DECEMBER 15, 2020 - JANUARY 15, 2021 (31 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$120.72 $107.63 +$13.09
NOVEMBER 13, 2020 - DECEMBER 15, 2020 (32 DAYS)PUBLIC POWER OF NY$113.03 $105.50 +$7.53

Your Average Shmoe
April 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad company

(1 / 5)

  After our contract expired our rate went up 2 cents to 9 cents per kwh. No big deal. But the second month our rate went to 18 cents per kwh. We called to try to resolve it but they werent willing to refund the difference nor were they willing to offer a contract comparable with the regular power company. Absolutely no reason to deal with this company. Bad service, high rates, dishonest practices, and nobody can seem to be able to resolve anything. I spoke with a man from the office of the president for public power and he seemed to believe that his company had done nothing wrong. When I asked if he would do business with a company that treated him like his company treated me, he hung up the phone.

Very Dissatisfied
February 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Will never use Public power again

(1 / 5)

  I never write negative reviews, but I think in this case its worth it. Do yourself a favor and dont use these guys. I was in contract with them and had a decent rate for a year, contract ended and then they shot me up to the highest rate they possibly could (higher than the highest any other provider had and higher than the standard rates by the Eversource). I didn't cancel in time, which is my fault so I ate the cost, didn't complain and paid the bill. The day I received that bill I called them and cancelled which was almost 4 weeks before my next meter read. A month later I get a bill (with Public Power being the provider) with that same insanely high rate. I called them and they said it could take 1-2 billing cycles to remove me from their billing. Long story short, they are holding me hostage to this rate until they decide to get to my name on a list and work with Eversource to remove me. I spoke to customer service and management and they wont do anything for me and keep telling me its their policy. Lets be honest, its an administration issue. They will get to your cancellation when they get to it, thus the 1-2 month policy. In my opinion, this is terrible business and a terrible way to treat customers. There is no reason why this process cant be expedited, b/c customers shouldn't be held hostage to your ridiculous rates if they are out of contract and ask to be removed within a reasonable amount of time from the next meter read.

Anthony Collazo
March 6th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

not happy with public power

(1 / 5)

  i got a low rate to start. However over a period of time my rate has gone up to .129896 per KwH. Their published rate for 12 months is 8.80 I am looking around.

jim O'Brien
February 7th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Would not choose Public Power

(1 / 5)

  I had received an offer from Public Power to renew at 0.0849 kWh, which was 50% higher than I had currently been paying. I went online at (Choose Energy - NY Energy Ratings), and found a lower rate by Public Power on 7/3/18. On 7/5, I received an email confirmation from NY Energy Ratings that they had received my order with Public Power with new rate of 5.33. In August, I received an email from Public Power regarding my renewal, I called and spoke about the rate I had locked in on 7/5. The customer service rep, told me to disregard the mail for renewal. I just received my National Grid bill, and my electric bill is $30 higher than last month, because I'm being charged 0.0849. I just spoke with a customer service rep, who was very difficult to understand - who told me that I wasn't eligible to sign up with Public Power at the lower rate in July, because I wasn't a new customer. I never received any notice of this! She then offered me two other rates that were still significantly higher, and told me that I would have to pay a $100 fee if I chose another company.... I'm looking elsewhere....

Charlene
September 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Classic Bait and Switch

(1 / 5)

  I enrolled on-line and within a week, I received a call telling me the information that I used to make my enrollment decision was incorrect. I could either pay a $150 filing fee to continue or lock in to a higher rate plan for a 24-month period. I cancelled the service.

VM
September 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1 / 5)

  We signed up a contract with Public Power as our natural gas supplier. It is for a fixed 12 months term with an early termination fee of $50. A few months have passed and we received a letter that they will charge us a minimum usage fee of $5.00 in which our average daily usage is less than 0.1 therms/day. We conserve on our electricity and gas since I am not working and on permanent disability. Our total monthly supply gas charge is only $0.94. I contacted Public Power and stated that it was not in the contract when we signed up. Unfortunately, we will now be charged extra fee for trying to conserve.

Maria
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They gave me the wrong price

(1 / 5)

  They took away the offer before it was activated. I could had used the time to sign with a different provider. Very disappointed.

Mike
September 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disappointing

(1 / 5)

  After signing up I was told I had to pay $159 fee.

Disappointing
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Odd experience

(1 / 5)

  I received a phone call one month after signing up for a rate and they told me the website had a glitch the day I signed up and didnt bill me the $150 sign up fee. There was no notification of a sign up fee when I registered. They said I had to pay it or they would cancel. I let them cancel. No written notification either just a phone call. Sounded like a scam to me

Odd Experience
September 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A concern about a charge

(1 / 5)

  Some body send me an email saying that I owe $139 for the contrac if I dont pay I will be out of that plan I got from power plan

Charge??????
September 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Base fees are expected they want you to pay to join

(1 / 5)

  They wanted 150 dollars to be affiliated with public power in addition to collect8ng the monthly charges per kwh. I decided to not pay the fee so they dropped my account. They did not mention this fee up front when i signed up. Only after a couple of months with them.

Bethk
September 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Choose Public Power

(1 / 5)

  I signed on with PP in May expecting to be on line by June 30. Recieved a bill from my existing provider mid July at twice rate that I had been paying.Called PP as to why they had not followed through with the planned switch.They said information was incomplete.They failed to contact me,as a result I'm stuck with an inflated electric bill. Their business follow up stinks. DO NOT EVER CHOOSE PP AS A SUPPLER.

Dan Zaicek
July 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bate and switch plans!

(1 / 5)

  We signed up for a 12 moth plan at 7.98% and received an acknowledgement letter but it NEVER went into effect and for 3 months+ we were paying a 12.49% rate instead. They blamed it on Eversource but they said it was Public Power's error. When we called to complained they only would offer us a 6 month plan at 8.56% which we were forced to take to get out of the 12%+ we were paying. One rep said he would see if he could get us a reumbursement for the months we paid 12%+ but he never called back or returned our call. We have filed a complaint with the CT Public Utilities Regulatory Agency and await their assistance in this matter. As soon as our 6 month plan is up with them we will find another supplier and nevr use them again!

B & L in Danbury
July 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...