Read NRG Home Reviews


NRG Home Customer Reviews

The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.7 of 5.

NRG Home Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

148 Reviews and Replies for NRG Home


Shop around

(3.6 / 5)

  Had NRG after a bad experience with other supplier that almost doubled my rate after it expired. And paid high amount for 3 months not paying attention
NRG would have kept bus but price went from 6.7 to 7.6, therefore I called Frintier and now I'm paying less than I am now. Easy over the phone sign up
Ther

Joseph Moffitt
November 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Must Read

(3.4 / 5)

  This isnt a bad company to go with as a supplier. Although the rep told me that the rates go up after the three months of service, i forgot to call to keep my fixed rate. I had noticed that my bill had gone up, and I called customer service, and they were able to fix the rate once again for two years. Reminder to just call after the three months to keep the fixed rate, don't forget like I did. That's why it had gone up to variable.

Rick Major
March 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates get ridiculously high quickly

(2.2 / 5)

  Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!

C-Real
January 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Jacked up my rate because I didnt renew

(1.8 / 5)

  I was with them for a year and had pretty competitive rates, but apparently I didnt renew so they doubled my p/kwh. I called to cancel and they offered me another competitive rate, but they effectively wiped out any savings Id had for the year by doubling my rate for 3 months.

Its a pretty dirty business model. Dont use them.

Ryan Kay
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I always stayed away from that crappy company

(1.8 / 5)

  They seem to have no renewable options, meaning they mostly use the most polluting source of energy such as coal. Their sales tactics are despicable. And, if you compare electric rates, they are not competitive.

Get The Crooks
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubled bill - no warning

(1.8 / 5)

  They doubled my bill without warning. They told me that once the promo is over that the price would potentially go up to market value. Doubling isnt market value. Scummy business practice

James
July 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  I have been an NRG customer for several years now and truly regret ever doing business with them! Anytime I have a problem and need to reach out to their customer service it is a long and aggravating process. I have to keep calling over and over and cannot reach the person that is supposed to be assisting me. I hate constantly being told that they will email the person that is handling my claim rather than being able to speak to him or her directly. And needless to say no one ever calls me back. NRG has absolutely no clue what good customer service is about.

Ida A
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Heating and Air condition company ever

(1.6 / 5)

  I wanted central Air for the summers but the salesman; Ziv, talked me into getting a heater as well.. My heater was doing great and was only six years old. But the smooth talking salesman got me to order heating as well.
I am 80 years old and get cold easily.
Where I sit is right in front of a floor vent. When ever the heat goes on, there is a blast of cold air right at me.
They sent a specialist to check the heater and after checking it out he said I should shut down the vent. WHAT? My old heater was fine, now Im freezing.

NEVER TRUST this company or Ziv the salesman.

I would pay to have my old heater back, it worked perfectly.

Worst heater ever
March 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for rate hikes

(1.6 / 5)

  I signed up for a limited time (3 months) discounted rate. I knew that my rate would go up, but not to DOUBLE the price of Duke energy! Not to mention, NRG did not even honor the first three month discount. My rates started systematically hiking after just two months until I was paying nearly double what I would have been paying with Duke. I'm embarrassed that I did not look at my rates earlier as I had a feeling this would turn out bad. Of course, I could not look at my rates because there does not appear to be any sort of online account that gives me this sort of transparency. I was also on hold with their support center for way too long, but that's what you'd expect out of a company like this.

Hyde Park
February 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay Far Away

(1.4 / 5)

  I ran into a young lady at Walmart that convinced me to switch over after showing me how much money they could save me. My bill was about the same (everything they "saved" me in electric fees they made up for in rider charges). I was fine with this, since I couldn't tell a difference in the total amount I was paying. After 6 months my bills shot up hundreds of dollars more than what I was paying before (comparing to the same months last year). When I finally had 2 straight bills over $700, I had to call and cancel. Be prepared for looooong wait times if you try to call and cancel.

Joey
July 27th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a scam

(1.4 / 5)

  Last year in December 2018 some nice lady was stop me on some cinema place about promoting nrg , and if Im interested to switch, because price was ok and even lower than ComEd, I was switch to nrg, of course she forgot to mention one important thing, like must call nrg every 3 months to negotiate price of Elektryk...??!! After one year of reaping me off I was checking my last bill something is to high and of course price was double than ComEd !!! After calling customer service everything was explaining to me , what a shame it was to late of this , when I was decided to cancel and switch to ComEd they told me this will keep them 1-2 service before this will happen!!! Plus they will charge me even more before this will happen!!! Thank you nrg for this scam !!!

Tomasz C
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I got SCAMMED!

(1.4 / 5)

  This is a scam designed for regular people to forget to call when their plan expires. Then they simply double your rate!!! 30% increase per month. It's amazing that this is legal!!!

Filipe Dias
February 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switch right after promotional period

(1.4 / 5)

  I went from paying $0.05 a KWH to 0.12! Make sure you are paying attention when the promotional rate it over!

Tsaemom
September 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont GET NRG SCAMMER

(1.2 / 5)

  I paid 600 dollars on electric double every month electric company said they are a scammer collector dont say or display contact to that company

Dont get NRH
August 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Put me in the poor house!

(1.2 / 5)

  I switched after being approached in the airport and since Im on a PECO budget plan I wasnt checking monthly bills and just got a catch up bill for over $800 and my monthly budget job mped up by $55 per month due to high increase in NRG charges! Total scam!!! Im dropping them immediately and may pursue legal action.

PoorHousewife
May 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves ( NRG )

(1.2 / 5)

  My electric bill doubled and I didn't even confirm their use, because I wasn't sure. Don't sign up with them , you'll be sorry. I'd like to see a law suit started for everone who was TAKEN !!!!

NRG don't do it!!
December 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not switch to NRG Home

(1.2 / 5)

  They will switch the initial rate without notifying you. They will actually double the initial rate. That is how they make money. It may take more than two billing cycles to switch back to your original or a new supplier.

Marzena
July 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG reatail solution another scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Total scam. In Chicago they try to sign you up in Menards. They are charging rates twice the amount you would be charged using ComEd. They charge 0.119 when
ComEd charges 0.071 per kWH. It 67 % on top of what you should be paying.
I asked them to provide me with the written contract. Did not get it from the. The bill comes from the ComED. I thought that the ComED is rising the prices but when I called ComED they said that it is a third party provider not them, who is charging me such a higher rates. I never got any letter from them. They just operate the call center and singn poeple in at WalMart, Menrads... This is a total fraud. Lack of transparancy , lack of proper billing. I filed a complain with Illinois Commerce Commision. I was told that people file the complains against NRG Retail Solution with the Illinois Commerce Commision.
If I did not call ComEd and complained about the higher rates I would be still paying high rates. The cancellation of the contract takes two billing cycles ( two months ).
They singed you in without your knowledge in one day.

Rafael S
July 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...