Read NRG Home Reviews


NRG Home Customer Reviews

The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and the order experience, rated at 1.7 of 5.

NRG Home Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

131 Reviews and Replies for NRG Home


NRG WILL NOT SAVE YOU ANY MONEY!!!

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't fall for their WE WILL SAVE YOU MONEY sales pitch...

(2.2 / 5)

  They did not save me a penny!!! In March and April 2020 DPL's prices was 4.4 cents /KwH. NRG charged me 10.4 cents per kWh and 11.5 cents in April. If you want to save money DO NOT USE NRG!!!

Mark
May 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rates get ridiculously high quickly

(2.2 / 5)

  Signed up and rep was nice, customer service is nice but if you are in a variable rate agreement you better check your rates closely. Got the rate I signed up for 2 months and then it went up 23% in month 3 and another 16% in month 4....really!!!!! I beleive this company just takes advance of people. Still with the utility providers, at least they have to justify their rates with the public utility commission!

C-Real
January 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I always stayed away from that crappy company

(1.8 / 5)

  They seem to have no renewable options, meaning they mostly use the most polluting source of energy such as coal. Their sales tactics are despicable. And, if you compare electric rates, they are not competitive.

Get The Crooks
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Doubled bill - no warning

(1.8 / 5)

  They doubled my bill without warning. They told me that once the promo is over that the price would potentially go up to market value. Doubling isnt market value. Scummy business practice

James
July 14th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE COMPANY

(1.6 / 5)

  I have been an NRG customer for several years now and truly regret ever doing business with them! Anytime I have a problem and need to reach out to their customer service it is a long and aggravating process. I have to keep calling over and over and cannot reach the person that is supposed to be assisting me. I hate constantly being told that they will email the person that is handling my claim rather than being able to speak to him or her directly. And needless to say no one ever calls me back. NRG has absolutely no clue what good customer service is about.

Ida A
January 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Heating and Air condition company ever

(1.6 / 5)

  I wanted central Air for the summers but the salesman; Ziv, talked me into getting a heater as well.. My heater was doing great and was only six years old. But the smooth talking salesman got me to order heating as well.
I am 80 years old and get cold easily.
Where I sit is right in front of a floor vent. When ever the heat goes on, there is a blast of cold air right at me.
They sent a specialist to check the heater and after checking it out he said I should shut down the vent. WHAT? My old heater was fine, now Im freezing.

NEVER TRUST this company or Ziv the salesman.

I would pay to have my old heater back, it worked perfectly.

Worst heater ever
March 19th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for rate hikes

(1.6 / 5)

  I signed up for a limited time (3 months) discounted rate. I knew that my rate would go up, but not to DOUBLE the price of Duke energy! Not to mention, NRG did not even honor the first three month discount. My rates started systematically hiking after just two months until I was paying nearly double what I would have been paying with Duke. I'm embarrassed that I did not look at my rates earlier as I had a feeling this would turn out bad. Of course, I could not look at my rates because there does not appear to be any sort of online account that gives me this sort of transparency. I was also on hold with their support center for way too long, but that's what you'd expect out of a company like this.

Hyde Park
February 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

What a scam

(1.4 / 5)

  Last year in December 2018 some nice lady was stop me on some cinema place about promoting nrg , and if Im interested to switch, because price was ok and even lower than ComEd, I was switch to nrg, of course she forgot to mention one important thing, like must call nrg every 3 months to negotiate price of Elektryk...??!! After one year of reaping me off I was checking my last bill something is to high and of course price was double than ComEd !!! After calling customer service everything was explaining to me , what a shame it was to late of this , when I was decided to cancel and switch to ComEd they told me this will keep them 1-2 service before this will happen!!! Plus they will charge me even more before this will happen!!! Thank you nrg for this scam !!!

Tomasz C
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I got SCAMMED!

(1.4 / 5)

  This is a scam designed for regular people to forget to call when their plan expires. Then they simply double your rate!!! 30% increase per month. It's amazing that this is legal!!!

Filipe Dias
February 22nd, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Switch right after promotional period

(1.4 / 5)

  I went from paying $0.05 a KWH to 0.12! Make sure you are paying attention when the promotional rate it over!

Tsaemom
September 3rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Thieves ( NRG )

(1.2 / 5)

  My electric bill doubled and I didn't even confirm their use, because I wasn't sure. Don't sign up with them , you'll be sorry. I'd like to see a law suit started for everone who was TAKEN !!!!

NRG don't do it!!
December 26th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do not switch to NRG Home

(1.2 / 5)

  They will switch the initial rate without notifying you. They will actually double the initial rate. That is how they make money. It may take more than two billing cycles to switch back to your original or a new supplier.

Marzena
July 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG reatail solution another scam

(1.2 / 5)

  Total scam. In Chicago they try to sign you up in Menards. They are charging rates twice the amount you would be charged using ComEd. They charge 0.119 when
ComEd charges 0.071 per kWH. It 67 % on top of what you should be paying.
I asked them to provide me with the written contract. Did not get it from the. The bill comes from the ComED. I thought that the ComED is rising the prices but when I called ComED they said that it is a third party provider not them, who is charging me such a higher rates. I never got any letter from them. They just operate the call center and singn poeple in at WalMart, Menrads... This is a total fraud. Lack of transparancy , lack of proper billing. I filed a complain with Illinois Commerce Commision. I was told that people file the complains against NRG Retail Solution with the Illinois Commerce Commision.
If I did not call ComEd and complained about the higher rates I would be still paying high rates. The cancellation of the contract takes two billing cycles ( two months ).
They singed you in without your knowledge in one day.

Rafael S
July 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont get tricked by the Promotions they offer

(1.2 / 5)

  They initially start off with a nice plan stating that as a customer we dont see any change in the rate plan. With out any communication, they doubled the price of the kilowatt per unit and when i asked them to cancel it , they say it may take 2 billing cycles during which time they continue to charge the hiked amount. Stay away from these marketing tricks.

NrgVictim
July 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill robbery

(1.2 / 5)

  Hello. I canceled all my accounts with them, though they are people to trust. Same story with everyone, you didnt call and Nrg increases prices. However I called 3 or so month ago, they dropped the price and send out gift card for $25. Than raised price and stole hundreds. How is sams club or others retailers can put them in their stores???? People, run away!

Y. Horbach
January 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

**STAY AWAY**

(1 / 5)

  Your bill will always change, the prices continually go up, this company is a rip off. DO NOT USE. STAY AWAY from NRG. Your bill will be extremely high and they won't help.

Ashley
April 27th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst experience ever

(1 / 5)

  I talk to one of there employees at Walmart west Chester oh. After he went with me all over the kWH charges
He stated that I ll save lot of money by switching from duke energy to NRG
At the end I was not confident I left without signing anything
He said anyway you ll receive a call from 800 number if you agree to switch to NRG give them the ok
I received many call from the 800 number but did not answer none of them.
Since the day I talk to this employee my electrical bill went up every month till I reached the bill of $480 I called duke energy they said that s because of the third party supplier that I did not even I had.
I was paying my bill without even checking what s in there
Instead of getting charged for 0.054 kwh I was charged for 0.094 kwh for the last 6 months.
Please everyone whose reading my review do not sign with please.

Messaoud choubane
April 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG's Pricing Prowess

(1 / 5)

  This review discusses NRG's pricing and their role as an alternative supplier of electricity. They supply the electricity to my provider, PP&L, so comment on that role actually describes my entire experience with NRG. I relied upon NRG as having trading experience and knowledge that might produce a better price than PP&L. Instead, I paid NRG 15.9 cents per KWH throughout this past winter (2020-2021), while PP&L was charging less than 8 cents. That gap is so wide as to contradict any real attempt at competition or skill at trading. It was a cold winter and I paid bills of $500-$800 per month. Before I was allowed to cancel, proposals from NRG's rep included price discounts for 3 months that would beat PP&L's pricing. That told me that NRG was ready to charge excessively high prices to existing customers to enable costly discounts to new (or renewing) customers. I will not do business with this outfit again.

Rick
April 8th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NRG is a scam

(1 / 5)

  NRG is the worst company ever to use as a supplier, my bill went from 138 to 263 then to 368 and continue to go up please people do not fall for the scam the reps work out of Walmart. I never signed up for it

R.Wilks
March 23rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...