Reviews Overview
The best review categories for NRG Home are their customer service, rated at 1.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.3 of 5.
5 Stars
0%
 
4 Stars
0%
 
3 Stars
13%
 
2 Stars
0%
 
1 Stars
100%
 

Review from Rick Major

Must Read
This isnt a bad company to go with as a supplier. Although the rep told me that the rates go up after the three months of service, i forgot to call to keep my fixed rate. I had noticed that my bill had gone up, and I called customer service, and they were able to fix the rate once again for two years. Reminder to just call after the three months to keep the fixed rate, don't forget like I did. That's why it had gone up to variable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Major from Parkville, MD on March 17th, 2021


Recent Good Review from Rick Major

Must Read
This isnt a bad company to go with as a supplier. Although the rep told me that the rates go up after the three months of service, i forgot to call to keep my fixed rate. I had noticed that my bill had gone up, and I called customer service, and they were able to fix the rate once again for two years. Reminder to just call after the three months to keep the fixed rate, don't forget like I did. That's why it had gone up to variable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Major from Parkville, MD on March 17th, 2021


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Must Read
This isnt a bad company to go with as a supplier. Although the rep told me that the rates go up after the three months of service, i forgot to call to keep my fixed rate. I had noticed that my bill had gone up, and I called customer service, and they were able to fix the rate once again for two years. Reminder to just call after the three months to keep the fixed rate, don't forget like I did. That's why it had gone up to variable.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rick Major from Parkville, MD on March 17th, 2021



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

8 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
This company is a SCAM! Be very careful!
Do not sign up with this company. It is a total scam company that the number in their website is not even correct. Avoid this crooked company at all cost. Will give you a $25 Best Buy gift card and first 3 months a slight better rate than BGE but will increase the rate by 40% after that with no notice. If BGE charges you 7.5 cent these crooks will make you pay 12cents per kilowatt.
Do yourself a favor and avoid this horrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Endrit from Lutherville Timonium, MD on January 16th, 2021
Ripoff
I switched to NRG to get a Southwest Airlines promotional reward (miles). The intro rate was lower than I was paying. However, over time they increased my rates to 2.5 times market rates. Shame on me for not noticing right away. When I noticed I switched back to BG&E as my supplier, reduced my rates from over $.15 to under $.07 per kWh. This is their business model. They lure people in with promotions and teaser rates and then count on the fact that most don't analyze their bill each month and/or the fact that the process to switch back isn't transparent or easy to figure out. I will say that once I called they offered to reduce my rates and when I persisted in saying I wanted to end the relationship the woman I spoke to did so readily.
My mistake of switching to NRG cost me hundreds of dollars easily. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY TO PROVIDE YOUR POWER.
Deceptive company!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andy from Sparks Glencoe, MD on April 17th, 2020
Increasing rates
Started in August when use and price was low. By late February, once rates became "variable", NRG increased rate from .47 to.71. This is a rip off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Potomac MD User from Potomac, MD on March 5th, 2020
Ridiculous
I signed up in december 2019 my first bill didnt show anything got my second bill shows an amount of 404 plus my regular bill which was about 328 a total of over 700 I'm so pissed they will be getting a call from me
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Me from Port Deposit, MD on January 28th, 2020
Don't trust this company.
In March my husband and I signed up for this company to be our provider. Before they had a chance to change we called to cancel our contract. A few months later I was getting emails from them. I called again and was told they are not our provider. But yet 7 Months later we were still being billed by them. When my husband and I called back we were told that they sent the request to our local electric company and the request was kicked back. This company can't be trusted. They even sent us an email back in May saying we are sorry to see you go and also asking us to do a survey.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy Customer. from Gwynn Oak, MD on October 16th, 2019
Cheaters dont even think about it
They charge me $250 over charge every month my brother have same apartment his monthly bill is $136 and my last bill $379 same KWh for almost a year i lost a lot of money And when I called them ,they lie for my rate ,I asked them to email me my contract they told some one will call you back and never happened very bad costumer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Magdy from Ellicott City, MD on August 10th, 2019
I got SCAMMED!
This is a scam designed for regular people to forget to call when their plan expires. Then they simply double your rate!!! 30% increase per month. It's amazing that this is legal!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Filipe Dias from Brentwood, MD on February 22nd, 2019
Rip off - Do not Sign with them
They hook you with a 3 month low rate, and they double the going rate!!! Beware.....
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Stay Away from Westminster, MD on January 23rd, 2019



All NRG Home Electricity Plans

Plan Name
Company
/
Rating
Length
Price
VS. Potomac Edison (Allegheny)
12 Month Fixed Rate
12 month
Fixed Rate
7.80¢ / kwh
6 Month Fixed Rate
6 month
Fixed Rate
7.00¢ / kwh
3 Month Fixed Rate
3 month
Fixed Rate
5.80¢ / kwh
15.4% under market rate
Compared to the current Potomac Edison (Allegheny) rate of 6.858¢ / kwh