Read National Gas & Electric Reviews


National Gas & Electric Customer Reviews

The best review categories for National Gas & Electric are the order experience, rated at 3.0 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.9 of 5.

National Gas & Electric Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

65 Reviews and Replies for National Gas & Electric


Unethical - Do Not Use

(1.4 / 5)

  Signed up for the 3 month .0459 rate, then without notice to what the new price would be, my next bill showed a rate of .1299. My rate TRIPLED without notice. I did not find out until after the new bill arrived, and by that time I have to wait another month until the next meter reading to switch. I'm paying these' ass hats highway robbery for two months and that's not right! I switched to another provider with a 12 month contract who had much better reviews. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THEM! An honest company will try to work with you to lower your rate and make right what is wrong. Not these people, they will take you to the cleaners for the two months they legally can. Hopefully they will be out of business sooner rather than later. I will NEVER do business with these people again. STAY AWAY PEOPLE!!

Ripped Off
November 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

national gas and electric low cost entry high cost exit program

(1.2 / 5)

  no billing and account management: the distributor (not ng&e)
manages the bill, ng&e apparently just mismanages the account
no customer service
will not recommend, will recommend that you should never
experience ng&e
initial order mine, but mismanaged or ripped me off on a
continuing plan
only the intro 3 month plan is noteworthy, all other offerings
are not competitive, and then they, apparently, mismanage
or rip you off with those

the only competitive program ng&e has is the 3 month plan
no fees, low price, great
but, you really need to get out before the end of the 3 months
i went to their web site and signed up for a continuation plan, 6 months
okay price, about 1 cent/kw higher, great, right
but they didn't give it to me, initially they raise my rate about
2 cents/kw, then about double the 3 month rate to 12 cents/kw
lucky i saw the initial invalid rate hike and proceeded to switch
i ended up paying 12 cents/kw for 2 to 3 weeks when it should've
been about 6.8 cents/kw
when it became apparent that i was switching to another company
ng&e started calling me, i let it go to voicemail, they sounded
like cold callers, they couldn't pronounce my name, they had
heavy accents, i could barely understand them
i wouldn't normally waste my time submitting a review like this,
but my experience with this company, was just awful, and
moderately costly (not that much, but it was about 70 dollars
i guessimate) i only switch providers to save a little money
not to lose money or be ripped off, any amount.

jfubar
June 12th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lying Scoundrels

(1 / 5)

  I declined their offering and service, yet these scoundrels set themselves as my chosen provider.

I was traveling (job) and did not receive the confirming email until beyond the cancellation deadline.

File a police report for fraud, identity theft and elder abuse and they will suddenly have a change of heart and cancel waiving the cancellation fee.

Lockm Up!
May 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Another preditor utility company

(1 / 5)

  Prey on senior citizens, and then threaten them. Won't answer phone stating too many calls!

Deanna Schroeder
April 26th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

STAY AWAY from these THIEVES

(1 / 5)

  I changed my suppliers for gas and electric to NG&E in Oct 2019, gas was around .35/100 cu ft and 5.5 cents kWh, electric was for 4 months and gas for 6, no signup or monthly maintenance, I checked prices when agreements were up and decided to go elsewhere-BUT they dragged their feet and I ended up paying 8 cents kWh the first month after the contract was up, they dragged their feet so that I ended up paying 15 cents kWh the second month! This took too long to change over, and I ended up paying almost THREE TIMES what I had been paying while under contract. Do not deal with these thieves.

mike mountain
April 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lies

(1 / 5)

  Was not ultimately happy with the company at all! I decided to not renew with them. However, they did not cancel my account, even though I did NOT renew when my 6 months was up, and I ended up paying a ridiculous rate! I am very displeased with this company! Join with caution!!!!!!

Cristina
March 23rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammers, just hang up on them

(1 / 5)

  They charge 40% more than the ComEd, they are scammers.

Peter B
August 20th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

CONSTANT harassing phone calls.

(1 / 5)

  This company has called my number at least 15 times this week. I have told 5 different service agents to remove my name and number and stop calling. They hang up on me mid-sentence every time.. They are so above board in business practices that they spoof caller ID to look like a local call coming in.. You cannot call them back as all the numbers are fake numbers.. That is technically illegal, but no one is doing anything about it.

E. Godfrey
December 13th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Probably made a mistake here....

(1 / 5)

  So they called me. Said they were WITH com ed. then later on they said they were authorized by com ed. anyway, they had all my account information already. they said i qualified for a lower rate because of my on time payment history. i was skeptical but was assured they were with com ed. they also would give me a lower rate for bundling with nicor. gas and electric.... makes sense right? i get my first bill. $30 commodity fee. real mad about it. my gas bill is usually only $20. so now its almost a $50 bill. saving me money huh? then they call me on THANKSGIVING to tell me that they made a mistake entering my information for my electricity. they put me in as a commercial business. re verified i was a house. kinda mad about it but whatever. then i look them up online and find they are probably scammers. i think i am going to have a problem getting this cancelled too.... might have to make a formal complaint with the consumer utility board or whatever it's called. of course they are closed the next few days so i cant even call to cancel until monday. HANG UP ON THEM IF THEY EVER CALL YOU.

Scott
November 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Constant Harrassment on Private Cell Phone Number

(1 / 5)

  Bombarded with calls from this organization on my personal and privately listed cell phone. Have spoken to reps to remove number, have block numbers from my phone (they use another) and. hung up on calls received. It just doesn't stop. You should definitely contact your state representatives and reinforce requests for federal "DO NOT CALL" legislation with higher fines and penalties for non-compliance. If fines were issued against these companies, we could pay off the deficit.

Barbara
November 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't waste your time

(1 / 5)

  I received a mailer from this "company" when I called to talk to someone, she put me on hold. Now I waited over 10 minutes for her and now I am heading into 60 minutes on hold since the rep put me on hold. WTH?!?! Is my time not valuable? I will be billing them for wasting my time on hold. And They will pay or I will send them to a collection agency. Not a company I want to do business with at all

Pissed off not going to be a customer now
August 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Calling my grandma just to harass her!

(1 / 5)

  I would like to start off by saying how rude of Kevin was to call my grandma several times just to harass her about switching companies after multiple times of her telling him no she does not want to switch at this time. The finale time he called her just to tell her she needs anger management. My grandma is a single elderly woman that has been through hell and back and doesnt need this on her plate. So please if some from the company would like to give me some contact information I would love to speak to you one on one:).

Kelsea
August 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(1 / 5)

  Call five times in one day four of the five times I pushed 0 which was to tell them I was not interested still got a call after that so I found out which company it was the guy insisted his his rate was cheaper I told him my rate and my rate was cheaper than what his was he tried to convince me differently all they were concerned with was getting me signed up don't waste your money they are a rip-off outfit

K T
August 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Enrollment scam

(1 / 5)

  Recently, I receive a letter saying my supplier has changed but I didn't talk to anyone on changing supplier. I call National Gas & Electric LLC about this problem and was told it was a mistake on their part. They accidently enrolled us(I wonder how that happen) and cancellation will take 1 or 2 billing cycle. BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!.

JM
July 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NG&E - False Adverising & Rude Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  The post card read lowest qualifying rate: 5.95 cents/kWh, terms available: up to 24 months. So I called multiple times, placed on hold...until I finally got through. The service rep had an attitude from the get go - short and impatient. I came to learn the 5.95 cent tickler rate was fixed for only 3 months then a rate over 9 cents kicks in for 2 years. When the service rep realized I wasnt biting, she hung up on me. Dont waste your time & money!

Bubba
July 9th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pay attetntion

(1 / 5)

  I received a letter from another supplier requesting I be switched. That's when I called Comed to find out what was going on. Comed then informed me that National Gas was my supplier. I have no idea how they became my supplier witch is a lot higher then Comed anyway. They couldn't answer my question. I informed them to cancel that account and switch it back to comed. Well a month later it still has not been done. These people are a fraud and needs to be stopped. They are ripping people off and act like there is nothing the consumer can do about. I am now dealing with the ICC

Lisa
May 18th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1 / 5)

  I wish I could rank this sham business as a ZERO. I cancelled my contract with them due to skyrocketing rates and switched to Direct Energy. Direct Energy notifed me shortly after that my contract had been cancelled. I checked and Verde was listed on my monthly bill as my new supplier. I called Verde and they said that NGE had sold all their PA accounts to Verde and my contract was one that was transferred at double my Direct Energy rate! I called NGE and they told me they received notification that I switched to Direct Energy but they never cancelled the transfer. I told them I wanted to be reimbursed the diffence and they told me no. I told them I was reporting them to the PUC and then they said they will reimburse me up to the "local utility rate" but would not tell me what that was. They also said it could take 3 -5 months for it to show up on my bill. STAY AWAY. They were extemely rude and are unethical. Don't be taken by them! I plan to blast this all over social media to alert people. I hope other victims do the same.

Lisa Case
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

National Gas & Electric

(1 / 5)

  This company's caller claimed to be "a ComEd supplier", which is false per ComEd. And they are not the best rate, either. For any competitor, not just this one, find out what all the startup/cancellation/etc fees will cost you in the end, just to get an artificially low and temporary rate. When I identified myself for the second time as a person taking a message for my mother, who is the homeowner, this vendor hung up on me. And that's how I know the caller ID number is no good. Tried it three different times.

cr
May 16th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible and unethical company - Beware!

(1 / 5)

  Like others, when my contract expired in the middle of winter heating months the rate skyrocketed. At the same time they were "delayed" in getting billing info to Duke so I did not see that my new rate jumped from 4.9 cents/kwh to 18.99cents/kwh. Nice trick. It seems odd that they were never delayed before....They got me for a total of 5 months at this rate before I could get switched to another company. What they are doing may not be illegal but it sure is unethical. if you go with them make sure you get out on the day the contract is up.

Joe
May 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I was lied to!

(1 / 5)

  Got a call, said they were my provider and was offering a reduced rate because of my good payment history. The rate they quoted was over .09 per kWh. Now I have to make sure they don't change my service!

km
May 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...