Read Mega Energy Reviews


Mega Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Mega Energy are their customer service, rated at 1.4 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.3 of 5.

Mega Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

66 Reviews and Replies for Mega Energy


STAY AWAY!

(1 / 5)

  Let me start by saying that I'm not the type of person who ever spends any bit of time writing reviews. But here I am, today. Due to a switch in banking bill pay software, a payment didn't go out when it should of. Immediately after receiving a notice from Mega Energy, I called them. I advised them of the situation, apologized for mix-up and told them that payment was remitted immediately (10 days late). They thanked me and said they have noted my account and everything was fine. Well... a few hours later, sure enough, the power company shows up and disconnects my service. I immediately called them, once again, and they said that the only thing that could be done would be for me to contact my bank, issue a stop payment on the online payment that I previously sent in the morning, pay them via credit card (and pay $9.95 to pay via credit card) and even then, all they could do would be to issue a 'reconnect' notice, which could take another day.

When I called, every time that I made a comment, I was put on hold so that the 'operator' could relay what I was saying with someone else. Then she'd return... and the process would continue.

There is no corporate office or anyone who can ever be reached, as there is only one number to 'who-knows-where' that is answered by 'who-knows-who'.

As a long-time customer who has always paid my bills, I find this to be ridiculous!
Fool me once, shame on you... Fool me twice, shame on me!

AW
September 25th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Double your bill after first month!

(1 / 5)

  Great for the first partial month cycle and then double your kWh price the next month. Even though powertochoose.org says 7 cents per kWh I was billed 15 cents per kWh. They suck.

J
September 22nd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT DO THE VARIABLE RATE PLAN!!!!!

(0 / 5)

  I just found this site - unforetunely I am a couple months too late. I signed up for a great 7.3 c/kwh variable rate deal, and when my 2nd bill showed up I see it has bumped me up to 15 c/kwh. I called to let them know there was an "error" beacuse the variable rate plan on the site had gone up to 8.7, but I was charged 15. They said I was "no longer on a plan because my contract was for 1 month. After that it goes to their defualt rate which is now 15 c/kwh." After arguing that my contract was month-to-month and should not have ended, they offered to do a partial credit if I signed up for one of their high-priced fixed rate plans. THEY SCREW YOU OVER AND THINK YOU'LL SIGN UP TO STICK WITH THEM!!! No F-ING WAY!!! Oh, and in case you are thinking about trying to take advantage of the deal for 1 month and then bail out - know that you'll be charged $6 just to pay your bill. The only way out is to sign up for auto-bill, but I did that and they told me the first month is considered a one-time payment and the month's following are when the auto-payments kick in (at which point they begin screwing you on rates). That's right, I called to complain twice about they're shady practices within 2 months - the first 2 complaints I've ever made to my energy company in my 10 years living in TX...

Jeremy
September 20th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Love Them

(4.6 / 5)

  For the most part, I've had absolutely no issues with the company. My contract period was coming to an end, and I called in because their rate jumped up. However, I held off renewing, and ended up with a better rate than I had. My electricity bill is consistently lower than my neighbors, who have other companies.

The customer service has always been top notch when I call in.

Michael R.
August 29th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Exellent Service!!

(5 / 5)

  Love the company, excellent rates and customer service.

Annonymous
August 23rd, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

"Variable" rate is NOT variable - you will be gouged after the 1st month

(0 / 5)

  Wish I had found this review site before I signed up for their "Variable" rate plan. I had a great rate for one month and then they moved me to the Fixed Rate plan at a whopping 14.5 cents per kWh. I originally saw the offer on www.PowerToChoose.com website in the "Variable" area. I did not see the fine print which turned out to be "... you have chosen the Variable Rate Plan with a fixed rate" -- yes, they capitalized "Variable Rate" and did not capitalize the "fixed rate" wording. What makes this even worse is that I have to pay the obscene 14.5 cents per kWh rate for June and July when my usage is at peak. My advice -- just stay clear of this company.

Mark
July 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and Switch

(1.4 / 5)

  They offer a low rate, which you will get for one billing period (just a fraction of a month if you have a smart meter), and then they will double the rate and attempt to trap you into a bad one-year contract by offering to retroactively adjust the rate. They give the whole market a bad name. Avoid!

Andrew Adams
July 17th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Skanky Business Practices

(1 / 5)

  I've got burned TWICE by this company!! Never, ever again! If you choose, them, and that's a big IF, only do the fixed rate plan. You will get bill shocked if you choose their Energy Only Plan or Variable Rate. Complete rip-off and confusing billing practices. Even when I had their fixed rate plan, it was always confusing to reconcile because they charged you fees for previous months. For example, in one month I had three $9.95 fees for previous months. I always had to call them to find out what the fee was charged for. Customer service should be title "customer non-service".

John
July 9th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitive prices, dirty tricks on billing

(1.7 / 5)

  Run from this provider. Their "deals" are too good to be true. Shortly after signing up, I
realized they offered only half the grace period of any other creditor I have (including credit
cards). I had a couple late fees due to this while I adjusted my process for paying bills to suit
this short schedule. They also charge me to save them time by paying my bill electronically
(many others don't do this). I renewed with them on the promise of a competitive rate (with
auto-pay). No mention of an auto-pay fee for this rate (assumed it was a policy change for
new customers). Only after I got my first bill on the new period did I realize "auto-pay" meant I
had to go on to their web site and sign up for auto-pay (with fee) even though I had renewed
on the "auto-pay" plan. Not only did this mean a late fee could easily have hit me, but it also
meant I was now locked into a year of online payment fees.

Nathan
May 5th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This company is a RIP-OFF

(0.9 / 5)

  I signed a contract with Mega Energy in Dec 2011. I have had nothing
but problems with their billing system. After signing up for a rate, they
say they accidentally entered the incorrect rate (a higher rate into their
system) but could not explain how it happened. Two months ago, they
charged me a late fee when they had posted my payment on the day
that it was due. Last month, they failed to charge me the minimum
usage fee even though had not used 1000kWh. Even though I had
signed a 2 year contract with them, the customer service person, Gerri
Coleman corrected the rate but refused to honor the two year contract
period as originally signed online. I attempted today to pay by phone
and on the Mega internet site, only to find they would be charging me a
fee on $9.95 to pay by phone and $5.95 to pay on the internet site.
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE. The company is poorly
managed and is a TOTAL RIP OFF.

Harry Scher
January 16th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Extra charges

(0.6 / 5)

  Every time you get your bill there is some extra charge,you call them they say they will credit it to you on your next bill but they don't

saeeda
December 23rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Very Happy

(4.5 / 5)

  Excellent Customer Service !!!!

Bobby
November 11th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They do not deserve to be in Business

(0.5 / 5)

  There customer service is horrible. Once you
signup,the rip you off as long as you are their
customer. Billing is Intentionally confusing.
Paying the bill is not easy and they do not mail
the bill on time even on repeated requests.You are
not going to save any money with them. In summary,
They do not deserve to be in this competitive
business.Buyers Beware!!!

Sam
November 3rd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay way.

(0.5 / 5)

  They purposely make the statement messy and hard to read to rip you off. There is always some charge from early month. The end results are electricity rates that are much higher than what you signed up. Stay away from this company. Really bad business practice.

Michael
August 19th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip off

(0.9 / 5)

  I you want to know what small letters in a contract means? Get Mega Energy they will nickle, dime you and more. If I can give a -5 I will love that. They were putting every month in my bill almost 40.00 charges from AEP. Are you serious?

Honesty
August 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misery Loves Company.. Buyer Beware

(0.5 / 5)

  Everything you read in the reviews below are true as they have happened to me from the beginning. Do not fall for the low rates presented. My bills have so many (legal) extra fees that I am paying more than my previous carrier and will be stuck for 24 months or pay a huge cancelation fee. I had excellent service with Ambit Energy for two years at a great price. I moved and changed thinking I was going to save more. Their customer service phone numbers have changes twice in the past 6 months. There CS people are so depressed because they deal with 95% complaints. So if this doesn't scare you away then GOOD LUCK!

Nota Happy Camper
July 21st, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

paying extra for saving electricity!

(0 / 5)

  cannot recommend Mega Energy at all!
- never got a confirmation email letter with
contract details and you cannot find it in your
online account.
- had to wait for at least 2 months to get our
first bill.
- and, they charge you EXTRA $12 per month when
using less than 300kw/h!!! so don't even bother to save
energy!
-customer service is unfriendly, too!

I & M
June 17th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Minimum Usage Fees

(0 / 5)

  (Needed a title. As far as I know, they're not.)

During an era of oppulence in America, some people are striving for ways to cut back and reduce their impact on waste and energy consumption. In comes Mega Energy with "new and inventive ways to "punish you for not contributing to the smog and CO2 emissions for the Houston area.

Each of the last two bills received had penalties for not meeting minimum power kWh usages. I spent the spring trying to make my place more energy efficient in preparation for this summer. Reward for these measures, less coal burned and charges unforseen when researching energy providers. Even their website under "understand your bill" there is no mention of these requirements and even items contradicts the charge.

There is little chance I would ever meet their cryptic minimum usage and am gladly looking forward to our breakup. Unfortunately, they will win again since there is a $200 cancellation charge.

Mega Energy - "Always leave your lights on"

unhappy customer
June 16th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible!

(0.9 / 5)

  Terrible and rude! The way they bill is ridiculous. You can't pay over the phone
with a credit or debit card without a $10 charge and they make it hard to set up
autopay. I am dumping their service.

Park
June 8th, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Rip Off

(1.3 / 5)

  These people will rip you off if you are not careful. I'm one of those who reads the fine print and when I caught them in a lie; they said they would have billing call me back. Two weeks later, I still had not received a call. I called back and they said they are still working on it. Meanwhile another bill comes in with even more outrageous pricing. Nobody ever tried to fix my problem. I switched as soon as possible and plan on filing a complaint with the P.U.C.T. against them.

Lorna W.
June 2nd, 2011

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...