We currently recommend electricity plans from Constellation and Direct Energy

Misrepresentation

(1 / 5)

  2 representatives knocked on my door to state they where sent from my housing office to update information on behalf of PPl electric (current company) to get a cheaper rate by 2 cents. Spoke fast and when asked a question about signing up they stated no we are just updating on behalf of your current company.

mislead
April 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Another unsatisfied customer

(1 / 5)

  I never received notification by mail or email that my renewal was coming up. Contract says that they will contact you at least 45 days prior to the end of your contract. I did receive one phone call which the representative quoted me a renewal rate. I replied that the renewal rate was too high and that I would not be renewing with that company. Apparently because I did not make another phone call canceling the service they charged me a rate triple what I was paying before. My bill was almost $700 for one month. When I contacted customer service they said there's nothing they can do. They did not care that I had a personal tragedy in the family or that I was having financial difficulties. They truly do not care about their customers. Do not use this company.

DVG
April 1st, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Their rate doubled, no rebate!

(1 / 5)

  My elderly MIL signed with them 3 years ago. The contract expired. She didn't know it. Rate doubles what PPL is charging. She ends up with a $850 electric bill. She only receives $1900 per month in social security! They wouldn't budge. They wouldn't refund a dime. What a shame.

Bev
February 19th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

i think only two people work there

(2.4 / 5)

  every time I call I am on hold for at least 30 minutes. And they are closed after 5pm so if you call at 4pm they will keep you on hold until 5pm and then you will get the office is closed voicemail. if you are lucky, you may get a call back from an "after hours" person.

TM
January 8th, 2019

Thank you for contacting LifeEnergy. Please email us your contact information Care@Lifeenergy.com. A member of our team will contact you to assist you.

LifeEnergy Responds January 21st, 2019
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

got ripped off, sign up thinking i will save money not, ppl now is 0.07039 per kwl life energy is 0.077900

(1 / 5)

  so I was scam into thinking I was gonna save money, I emailed them and nothing back, I whish I would have stayed with ppl, there right now is 0.07039 life energy is 0.077900 they will charge me a fee, not a happy camper, I ask for rewards no answer either, thanks for nothing cathy mackalonis

life energy
December 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lying, cheating, money grabbers

(1 / 5)

  I tried to sign up for service and they wanted to charge $250 deposit. I have excellent credit and have never paid a deposit for utilities. To waive the deposit, they require letter of good standing from electric providers. I provided a year and a half and they still required a deposit. These are blood sucking middle men that do nothing to earn their money. Don't be fooled by their seemingly low rates. They are liars.
I wish I could give zero stars or negative stars.

Outraged
November 29th, 2018

Thank you for the feedback. Please email us at Care@LifeEnergy.com so that we may review your enrollment more thoroughly and have an opportunity to make things right.

LifeEnergy Responds December 14th, 2018
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

BEST RATES IN TEXAS UNDER 1000 KWH/mo!

(5 / 5)

  I have 12 month fixed rate plan for usage under 1000kw and it suits me fine! I average about 850kw and my bill has been the same every month..$34.06. The avg, varies each month, but that is about $.04 per KW. Beat That!!

mark h.
September 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't let your plan expire

(1 / 5)

  My plan ended in June, and because I didn't choose another plan before my bill came out, they put me on their most expensive plan, 16 cents per KWH. Ridiculous. We are retired and when I called to complain, no one cared and no other plan was offered. They definitely could care less. Went with another carrier.

T. Godwin
July 30th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Door to door thugs with nasty attitude

(1 / 5)

  Long story short, if this company wants to hire straight out of prison. Theyre never going to get business in my neighborhood. Got into an argument in my front yard with these hooligans after explaining a string of robberies from people going door to door looking like salesmen. Young kid gets irate and I begin to video tape his nasty attitude and foul mouth. I actually had to tell him to go pound sand in other words. Sad. Just really sad. Dont engage Life energy reps. Keep your hardware handy.

Common Decency
July 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The customer will figure it out...

(1 / 5)

  I received a disconnect notice from LifeEnergy today, which seemed odd since I set up an online account with autopay. I called their support line and was informed that the company had just moved to a new computer system and a new online account and autopay would be necessary. I suppose the company did not find it necessary to inform their customers of this change. What a thing to overlook, no?

Sandy
July 19th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy, rate had no gimmicks

(5 / 5)

  My contract just came up for renewal from my existing energy company. I was shocked at how high the rate was, I have been with them for 6 years. I looked for an energy company that had a rate that was exactly as it seemed. I didn't want to worry about my rate changing depending on how much electricity I used.

It was easy to sign up, and I haven't had any problems so far.

Doug S
June 12th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch your first bill.... your renewal options.. and your last bill - when you leave them!

(1 / 5)

  1. As seems to be a common experience in other reviews you'll read; it seems to be standard practice for them to make a 'mistake' on your first bill regarding the calculation method. In my case; the first bill was more than 2.5 times higher than it should have been - and I had to call them to walk them through how THEY should calculate it. (after multiple attempts to get them on the phone - like others).
After this; they apologized - but 'couldn't' refund the money; but were happy to give it as a 'credit' to future bills. (that carried me past the next bill and half of the following one.. having 'paid in advance'.)
Several weeks later, they sent me an email saying 'whoops! We've discovered me made an error on your last bill!' - to which I HAD to reply to thank them for the newsflash - but remind them that it was ME who found the errors and had to correct them on it!
2. Each month, they'd send an email reminding me when my bill was due. This was nice.
One month - inexplicably, they didn't. I suddenly realized one day that I hadn't seen their bill (was only getting online bills); created an account to login to see it and paid right away - in what turned out to be 2 days past the due date. About a week later; I received a disconnection warning that had been sent that very same day! ..they for some reason didn't send me my bill; and 2 days after the due date - without contacting me, sent a nasty warning and disconnect threat?!
3. When renewal time came, they sent a message in the mail advising it was coming up and gave a PLATINUM CODE for me to call with and quote during renewal options. Having already looked online; I saw all the options available would cost me about 2x as much per month as I had been paying. ..Called them up with the 'special code' and was told the code didn't do anything! So much for fostering/rewarding customer loyalty.
4. Ultimately; I found a much better rate from another provider and made a switch. Immediately afterward, I received my final bill - including fees for the final, additional week I was with them after the billing period. (*funny how those billing periods end up always NOT being on your renewal time, but a week or two before!). The fee for the 1 week of service past the last billing period was the full 'Tier 1 Energy Fee' they would have charged me for a months' worth of usage in that range. I mailed them to ask if they really were going to invoice that for 1 week and they sent me back the original EFL saying 'it says so here for that usage'! :)
I replied to tell them that it was rather ironic that they wouldn't extend the program I had been on (as despite other issues, I would have remained with them on that plan); but yet as soon as I switched providers - they were quick to invoke the terms FROM it for the 'out of coverage' period!
Good riddance - and I hope that in this buyer's market others catch on and read these honest reviews to save themselves the same troubles. ...don't expect this company to be around in another year or two...

Once bitten..
May 23rd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nothing but headaches

(1 / 5)

  Just bad from the start. Problem 1: I paid extra to select what day my power would be turned on to coordinate with previous provider. LifeEnergy never sent start of new service request to Oncor causing me to be without power all day. It took dozens of calls between LifeEnergy and Oncor for them to get their ducks in a row and my power turned on. Oncor could turn on remotely, just needed paperwork from LifeEnergy, which never came. Problem 2: First two bills were grossly incorrect. The first bill was for two days of service for $206 dollars. Call into customer service said it was wrong and they would get it fixed. Second bill was $468 dollars for 1741 kW. My plan is a flat rate of $114 dollars for anything less than 2000 kW. This time I received an email stating my bill was inaccurate, and they would resend. Problem 3: Customer service line is constantly busy. Not busy like you are on hold, but busy as in you cannot get through to be put on hold. It takes 3 or 4 calls just to be put on hold. Problem 4: I have been unable to setup an online account. I keep getting a mailbox is full, server error blah blah blah. If and when they can ever get my billing straightened out, I will gladly pay them for service provided, but plan to cancel soon.

Glen R
September 14th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions