Read Green Mountain Energy Reviews


Green Mountain Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Green Mountain Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Green Mountain Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.4 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

433 Reviews and 90 Replies for Green Mountain Energy


Off to a bad start.

(0 / 5)

  Called Green told them i wanted to switch but under contract with another company but contract would expire next day. They did not suggest i wait for next switch day. Even though i told them that i was cancelling service with other company. SO Green tells me they can set me up with new service TODAY. So i cancel service with other company. Then i call Green to sign up. They tell me that i have to send them copy of DL, SS card, and some other info before they can switch me which would happen in about 2 days. Mean while the other company has cancelled my service. So, now i am out of power until Green verifies me. NOT TODAY LIKE I WAS TOLD. They should have suggested I wait for next switch day and they should have told me about that whole VERIFICATION process up front. If they had done that - I would not have cancelled my services or would have waited to SWITCH not CANCEL. Lets hope this is not the tip of the sword piercing me. They also said if they could not verify me that they would cancel my set up.

Jorge
June 10th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Can't tell a book by the cover

(2 / 5)

  I stayed away from Green Mountain for years because their field sales staff TRASH every other electric provider including those that offer green/renewable energy. I finally went with them when they had a great offer on Texas' "Power To Choose" website. I also stopped seeing their field sales people. Had GM changed to an honest green energy provider? So,they had a great rate last year, and I went with them. In April 2015 my one year contract was about to expire, so I contacted GM to renew another year. I was told of a great rate, but they couldn't provide the Energy Facts Label until AFTER I signed up. That should have been a red flag for me. Believing the sales rep's cost per kWh, I renewed another year. A few days later I could see the Energy Facts Label for the renewed plan in my GM online account. It was nothing like the rep told me... MUCH more expensive. DECEPTIVE! I immediately called GM. Still in my "open enrollment" phase, I cancelled the new plan and will go with another company. I'll NEVER go back to Green Mountain! Since the time Texas opened up electricity competition I've been with about 5 different companies, and none of them were this sneaky!

Steve L.
April 17th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Energy Provider

(4 / 5)

  My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.

Hunter Wang
April 14th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't sign up

(0 / 5)

  Green Mountain Energy will charge you on same day you sign up and same day you cancel. You are allowed three days to cancel order but they will say you cancelled three days later. LIARS.

A. Liu
April 3rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

highway robbery: stealing from west Texas low income families

(1 / 5)

  We had great service until November 2014. until They stop sending us our bill or disconnection bill and shut ojr power off. We paid the previous bill that was miss the reconnection fees and the month about to be due totaling of a little more then $800 (which is more then an entire chrck) after that it took them a day and a half in december with a 5yrs which they knew of. The next 2 months the kept sending us a bill with all the fees and the month we missed plus our bill that jump almost double and each month the rate went up. Each month having to call them to dismiss the fees and to disregard the diconnection notice. March came around and a $1000 bill came in the mail same fees and the "missed" month, but this time the said they didnt recieve our payments. We got ahold of the company that sent the payment while they were going through there records they called us back and they "found" our payments they named off the exact amout of each payment and the date of each payment and were told that they "error" in the system and that they will be updating our account for the payments to call back in a week to confirm the account was updated and to ignore any disconnection notices we may recieve and that she had to sendthe original receipts and that thay will omly accept the originals because photocopied one can be forged and be fakes. She called for 2 weeks and the finally the told her they found the fund and not to worry every things been settled and 6 this morning, after getting a supervisor on the line she tells us that they researched the case and they can't find the funds we paid

dawn
March 26th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor billing/accounting practices and inflexible customer service

(1.8 / 5)

  I have had Green Mountain Energy service for 2 years and 3 months. At the establishment of my account I requested to be placed on their budget billing. For the duration of my account with them, I have ALWAYS paid my bill in full on or before the due date. At the end of the first 12 months, I was surprised with a bill that was 4 times my expected budget bill (at Christmas time). In spite of my perfect payment record, they refused to extend the due date, although I had never been warned, other than in fine print, that the budget bill would be reconciled at the end of the term. Okay, so I paid that by the due date to prevent disconnection. My mistake was beginning another term with them. They did adjust the amount of the budget plan so that it was more reflective of my usage. Fast forward another 12 months and this time at the end of the term, I received a CREDIT bill showing a credit of $254. Of course, based on prior experience, my assumption was that due to the budget billing adjustment and my conservation efforts that I had actually paid for more than I used. I did call them to see if that was an accurate assumption and was surprised to find out that no, there had been an operations error in their system and that corrected bills would be sent out within two weeks. In two weeks, I received a bill that was close to my expected budget payment. However, one week later, I received an additional bill that was twice my expected budget bill. It was due one week after the first bill. After spending 45 minutes on the phone with customer service and a supervisor, despite this having been a Green Mountain error and despite my perfect payment history, they refused to spread the additional amount due out and would only offer a two week extension. Obviously, that means I am stuck either paying a double bill this month or next month. They said that because I was already benefiting from budget billing that their system would not allow them to place me on any sort of a payment plan for the additional amount billed. In other words, they offer no flexibility in payments, regardless of your history with them or the fact that their own error created a financial hardship for "valued" customers. I will be paying off my balance and switching companies as soon as possible. I know that other companies offer green electric products and better customer experiences. I recommend that you think twice about choosing Green Mountain as your provider, and if you do, think even harder and read every bit of fine print before you choose to request "budget" billing with them.

James Fairchild
February 26th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor customer service, rude, not saving tricked into contract.

(1 / 5)

  After 2 years of service NOT HAPPY, this company turned my services off for $11 in June, 2014. Paying way too much for service for size. Complaining about the fees charged for the $11 disconnect they somehow tricked me into a contract for a year or at least they are claiming I am in a contract that will cost me $200 if broken. I have denied their claim of a contract yet they have threaten that I can not get service anywhere until I satisfy the contract. This is a sorry way to treat a customer. The customer service personnel are very rude and unhelpful. They will go out of they way to prevent you from even using the customer service feedback suggestions. After two years with this sorry company I can't wait till my so-called contract is up. Beware if they try to talk you into saving money! Once you agree, they will own you and treat you that way. Not really saving just paying for the claim of using renewable energy. What a mistake I chose doing business with this horrible company.

Cortland
February 7th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Watch out for the Month to Month Rate Change

(2.6 / 5)

  I initially had a great experience with my 6 mo policy that converted to monthly. My initial monthly rate was reasonable, but I noticed the rate was higher on my bill even though the link to my current contract showed a cheaper rate. It turns out Green Mountain does not update the monthly rate on the linked contract, so you have NO idea what the rate is until the end of the month. When I suggested they just update the contract, to show the current rate, three different supervisors told me the same story about adjustable rates. My complaint was about the misleading information they show on the current contract, not the fact that the rate was high. Oh well, time to change providers.

Glenn Kessler
February 4th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrendous Company - Stay Away

(0 / 5)

  This is a dubious enterprise with unethical and unscrupulous practices.
I had signed up for the company in a fair in Houston with my credit card auto-pay with the representative.
After four months my credit card had sent a new card with new expiration date and I had not updated on their website.
They had disconnected the service to my home on the 15th day.
Called and gave them the new expiration date. In the next bill I saw the following charges
Disconnect service notice $20.00 (For sending a notice by First Class postal mail)
Disconnect Request Fee $25.00
Disconnect at meter $15.68
Reconnect service Request Fee $15.00
Standard reconnect at meter $15.68
Late Fee $24.61

They took about $120 for one late payment of 15 days. They disconnected the electric service instead of calling / emailing me about the credit card declining the autopay.
My calls and complaints for refunding were all declined, so the truth about their unethical practices is published here.
I will be contacting the BBB for the > $120 for the one time 15 day late payment due to changed in the credit card expiry date.

GR Rajendran
February 3rd, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Communication break down

(1 / 5)

  I sent Green Mountain Support an email and called for a disconnection of service for July 31. They sent me a bill and I spoke with a representative and reaffirmed my move and disconnection date. She assured me I would be sent a final bill. Green Mountain shut my service off on July 30, charged me for disconnection fee because of late payment and then charged me for service from Aug 1-Aug 7, because they reconnected service..??? I have emails with a Cancellation confirmation number. I am still fighting this 8 months later. I would not recommend them to any one.

EK
January 29th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

modern gone bad

(0.8 / 5)

  Terrible company. Signed up and Transferred account. Got no bill. Got termination notice with a fee attached. Set up auto pay and then got power cut off with another fee. Incompetent. Stay away.

john
January 28th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

So...so godd price...

(0.4 / 5)

  Incompetent, irresponsible, heartless...
I was moving, and on the closing day the bank decided I could not do closing on a Friday... But on Monday... So I called the "energy" middleman and they "sorry" that they could not give any solution because of the move was needed to be done within two days of anticipation...
So I got screwed and I have a 4 year old, so basically I could say, no stars for nothing Customer Service, does nothing to solve your problems, its yoooour problem no theirs...
I will keep in mind when it comes time to switch!! Yei

Julian Carcamo
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I Like Green Mountain

(4.6 / 5)

  At the time of deregulation, Green Mountain (GM) was the only company offering renewable energy. It cost more, but I chose GM for that reason. I've been with them ever since. I even sold GM for a year, because the company is good and I believe in clean energy. As a customer, I have never had a problem with billing or customer service. The website is excellent. I am only considering, and I mean only considering, switching companies because there are now companies with competing wind/renewable energy plans, but most look like bad companies, except Champion, whose rate is comparable to GM. Maybe the grass isn't really greener on the other side of the fence, and this cow will stay home.

Jane
November 12th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scammers

(0.8 / 5)

  What the representative offered me in person at one of their kiosk was not what the company told me they were offering. A Manager told me that they have nothing to do with whom they hire in the "field" and they can't be held responsible for what they are telling people. (Hmm, Really). I called within one day of getting information on the internet to say I was not interested. 4 Weeks later I get a final bill from my Electric Provider, Reliant saying I didn't have service with them. It took me three days, 5 hours worth of phone calls to my apartment, the apartment headquarters, Oncor, Reliant and Green Mt. to get something done. They can sign you up and get your service going in one day but they can't get it switched back when it's there mistake for two months. 0 for Customer Service because they disconnected me four times, said they would resolve it and then didn't. Horrible.

Dianne
October 23rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bait and switch as well

(1 / 5)

  I got caught in the bait and switch well. Noticed today that my bill was almost 3x what it normally is, and when I checked my usage we have used half of what we did last month. I called and asked why the significant surcharge and she said my bill is subject to increase at any given time. I asked by 3x the amount?? She replied that if I check the fine print on a link somewhere it tells me also that there was some kind of promo and now I have to pay triple if not more. I never knew or was informed of any such thing otherwise I wouldn't have went with their service. I would recommend staying far away from this company.

Jo
October 22nd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

be careful when signing up with them.

(1 / 5)

  I recently signed up with Green Mountain at a booth at the state fair. I told the sales lady that we have solar panels and are on a solar plan with TXU. She said they have a solar plan that buys back the power at retail for the first 500 kilowatts and then wholesale after that. I liked the plan then asked to make sure we were getting the solar plan. She said no but this would get the power started but to call in a few days to customer service and they would "gladly" change me over to the solar plan. Well now I call in and after talking to 4 people I am told that since I am already on a plan it will cost $200 to transfer to the solar plan. I finally had to get a supervisor who said yes there is a $200 charge for changing plans so early but she would send in a dispute. I asked why I had to beg for them not to charge me. I did just what they told me to do. I think the sales person was not well trained. However maybe the company just does this to generate additional income. I would never have signed up if I knew they were going to charge 200 to go into the solar plan. I would have stayed with TXU now I wish I had.

Pat Courtney
October 16th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DONT do business with this thieving heartless company

(1 / 5)

  These people are rude ,unprofessional , thieves and they are heartless. I called to ask for payment arrangment to pay full amount due on a certain date only a few days after date due , two rude ass underpaid little girls both told Me no and power was being cut off. Would not offer any other options they didn't hesitate to give a quick no and leave people without power. I spoke to a supervisor and she helped me and accepted my payment date. These people are thieves , they collect a shitload of money by charging $25 to mail a piece of paper to you but yet will not work with you and leave you with no power in a minute. Needless to say I'm shopping for a new provider.

v
October 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Good experience over Summer 2014. No issues seen like in the other ratings.

(4.2 / 5)

  My Summer Energy contract was expiring on 6/8/2014, and my rates were jumping way up so I hunted for the cheapest company I could find (for <1000 KWH) that didn't have totally horrible reviews, and I settled on the GME month to month plan at 8.4 cents. I have been watching the rate carefully each month, and it has never increased to-date, and even dropped down to 8.23 cents this month. I use <1000 every month so I end up paying more per KWH (~9.1 cents) with the base charge included, but I looked today (10/7/14) and it's still the best rate I could find for <1000 KWH. I had no issues other than them charging me the $6.95 fee for the last 3 days of the previous "ONCOR Month" (I switched over to GME 3 days before ONCOR read the meter). When I complained, and after explaining for 30 minutes WHY this was a problem like 5 different times, the CSR finally agreed that, yes, it was dumb to charge me a full month's base charge for 3 days of service, and said he would make a note to credit the amount back to my account the next month, but it never happened.
I use automated billing and have had no hassles.
I did request the $100 rebate after 90 days that I was told about when I signed up, but I have heard nothing back yet. It says 6 to 8 weeks, though, and I submitted my request on 9/10.
Maybe my good-ish experience is rare, or maybe only the people who have issues put their reviews here (vs. many more that don't). :-)

Christopher Reed
October 7th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

NOT RECOMMENDED

(1 / 5)

  When I tried to discontinue service, after my contract period, my bill suddenly doubled. When I asked for proof of the charges they just kept sending the final bill which did not show where the charges came from. It took me several months to finally get proof of charges. During this time they turned my account over to collections even though I was making monthly payments on the account, as agreed. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO MY WORST ENEMY.

Jennifer
October 6th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Deceptive Trade Practices

(1.8 / 5)

  I have been a Green Mountain Energy customer for almost 6 years (since December 2008). They had high prices from the beginning; but I originally accepted that, based upon the fact that I was buying renewable energy. However, beginning last summer (2013), the prices (month-to-month, no contract) began to skyrocket. As such, I selected a six month contract that literally cut my bill in half. When the six month contract expired, I checked the options for renewal. The Electricity Facts Label (EFL) of the month-to-month plan showed lower pricing than any of the contracts (with significant termination fees). I decided to keep the month-to-month; but wiser for wear, I would closely monitor the price (by checking the Electricity Facts Label for my current plan regularly on their website). The pricing was in accordance with the EFL for two months after the contract expired. When my bill increased by $0.02/kWh on the third month, I checked the EFL, it had not changed. What was I missing? It was a busy month, I didn't look deeper. Now, on my most recent billing cycle, the price has been raised by another $0.02/kWh ($0.04/kWh higher than the EFL states). OK, I smell something rotten. The EFL states that "this price is the price that will be applied during your first billing cycle; this price may change in subsequent months at the sole discretion of Green Mountain." Well, that is to be expected, the contract is month-to-month; but, the EFL will change when the price changes, right? Wrong! As stated in the EFL: "For information about the current price, you may call us at 1-866-785-4668." This is not a phone number dedicated to updating you with current pricing; it is simply their customer "service" phone number. There are no automated options to check your pricing. Basically you have to talk to a customer service representative (CSR). OK, I'm a long time customer; they will be able to work something out that makes me happy, right? Wrong! Speaking with the CSR, he explains there is nothing he can do. OK, can I speak to someone with more authority? After waiting on hold a few minutes, the same CSR says the only thing that can be done is to sign a new contract. I explain to him that is the last thing I will do without getting some degree of satisfaction. He inquires about what would make me happy. I suggest a rebate. He states that would be impossible. I request an adjustment to this month's bill (there is still one week before payment is due, via auto-pay). No can do. Further, it is explained to me that the only way I can know what I will be charged on a given month is to wait for the bill to arrive. Now, I already know that they will not budge on price adjustment; how can awaiting the bill to check my pricing possibly help me? No explanation is offered as to why the online EFL is not updated; it just isn't, ever, unless you sign a new contract. I explain that amounts to a deceptive trade practice; further, since I am not under contract, I will be leaving Green Mountain Energy. Coming to this website, reading the reviews, I see I am not alone when it comes to Green Mountain not caring about customers. It may not do any good, but I do intend to file a complaint with the Public Utilities Commission (PUC).

C Giroux
October 3rd, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions



Green Mountain Energy began in 1997 with a simple but powerful mission: Use the power of consumer choice to change the way power is made. Today, they are still 100% dedicated to protecting the environment, and they invite you to join them!

Green Mountain Energy Company shares their customers' commitment to the environment and sustainability. They are inspired by the success they have achieved and are passionate about continuing to work towards changing the way power is made. In addition to the pursuit of this important mission, Green Mountain Energy believes in operating their company in a sustainable way, with their employees taking the lead on many of the company's green initiatives.

Green Mountain Energy strives to raise the bar on being transparent and keeping the promises they make to customers about the cleaner energy they're buying.





Example Bill
loading...