We currently recommend electricity plans from Tomorrow Energy, Starion Energy and Constellation

If you are ready throw your head to the wall signup for Gexa

(1 / 5)

  I was customer of Gexa Energy and at the signup of contract Gexa Energy charge deposit, which they are not release after paying of final bill also. I am doing follow up with customer support and through Gexa Energy website. But, I am getting answer that department who is doing process of deposit refund did not take action and release refund to my deposit amount. Customer support supervisor make me wait for 45 min, 9 min and 12 min. After making followup call again again I did not get refund for my deposit amount yet. I try to reach out to Mr. Brian Landrum and Mr. Kenny Matula, but Gexa Energy Headquarters staff not allowing to forward my call to President and Vice President of Gexa Energy. I am filing case to BBB also for the same. I wish to give 0 (zero but that option is not available)

Bhaumik Shroff
August 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

My electric bill has never been higher

(1 / 5)

  After being a TXU customer for over 30 years I decided to try Gexa energy. Biggest mistake of my life I have never had an electric bill as high as I did with Jackson energy. They lied about the rate there are a lot of hidden fees they don't tell you about. I went back to TXU ASAP!

Diane Phillips
August 11th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

GEXA IS THE WORST

(1 / 5)

  THE BIGGEST SCAM! DO NOT USE GEXA! I have been trying to get them on the phone for a week now. I have probably spent 24+ hours on the phone getting tossed around and then when they "escalate me" they always end up hanging up after being on the phone for 5 hours. My Utility bill are INSANE $500 more then all my neighbors in the exact same home. This company is a scam do NOT use Gexa. I have NEVER left a review on any company until now. THIS IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST! told me they waive my fees to cancel i call and they say I still owe them in order to cancel. it is IMPOSSIBLE to get someone on the phone to help. DO NOT USE GEXA. Seriously Don't put yourself through this it is TERRIBLE

Brooke
August 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Customer Service and Deceitful Business Practices

(1.4 / 5)

  I have been a Gexa customer several times. I understand the potential for a plan to revert to a month-to-month after a contract completes and for the cost to increase; however, Gexa increased my plan amount (after a 9 month fixed plan) to more than double what I was being charged. This took place in July during the quarantine for COVID-19. With everything going on in the world, for a company to take advantage of our high usage and health issues during this time because my entire family is home all day is a statement of who GEXA Energy is. I called to request they do something about the charge immediately after receiving the bill (of over $800) and they refused to help. I was placed on hold for over 30 minutes when I asked to speak with a manager. Worst customer service ever. Low lifes. I will post my review to every site available, as many times as possible.

Jamey Hynds
August 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

From plan to Month to Month a 2.7 % increase!!!

(2.4 / 5)

  I was on a plan and my bill was $127 for 1995 kwh. Next month BAM for LESS kwh 1919, I was charged over $344!!!!! ROBBERY!! Bend over! So that's how you treat your customers during a pandemic.

sgytex
August 7th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DO NOT GET SUCKERED IN

(1 / 5)

  When purchasing my new home I researched energy rates. I choose Gexa and their Gexa Saver Eco Plus plan. As I use a larger than average amount of KW this plan was recommended by the Gexa advisor as you get $50 off or $100 off per month depending on usage. They sold it to me as the more you use the more you get off. Well I called as I am not receiving the discount. FINE PRINT says if use 2000 - 2500 kw you get $100 off. If you use over that you receive NO discount. This is NOT how it was represented. I have called their cusomer service twice now and both times waited over 1 hour to speak to a service representative. This company just takes your money once they have you suckered in and know they have you regardless for at least one year and you won't change because there is a cancellation fee of $150 on all cancellations with Gexa. So heed my warning THERE ARE MANY REPUTABLE COMPANIES THAT WILL TREAT YOU FAIR AND NOT RIP YOU OFF! Oh did I mention that they cut my power off for non-payment and the bills they were sending were one month behind!!!!! So yes I was one month behind, I never received correct bills, paid all that you sent me! Can't wait until Feburary to change companies!!!!

They rip you off!
August 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't Tell The Truth About Plans

(1 / 5)

  Customer Service was Rude, Disrespectful and Belittling about my plan. I explained what I was told and they told me about their new services and then Miriam placed me on Hold and then just hung the phone.

Bernay Holley
August 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

False advertisement

(1 / 5)

  WE Left TXU for GEXA , a plan that stated 6.5 cents per kilowatt... got my first bill showing charges at 12.56 per kilowatt. Terrible scam company.

Rachel
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Total Rip Off

(1 / 5)

  When we moved from an old home to a new energy efficient home in February, I switched from Reliant (after 15 years) to Gexa based off a 3 month contract that had a great kw/hr rate. There were no extra fees or charges with this plan. The rate was great and the fees were reasonable. However, after the 3 months I received an email offer based off my usage from Gexa that has now doubled my fee every month. First it was $120, then $200, and this month was a whopping $400!!! I called to speak with someone, as it was so easy to get someone on the phone to start the plan...I waited 45 mins to be out-sourced to India. Besides not being able to understand the woman, she spoke over me and would not transfer me to speak with someone else about changing my account or getting a credit. She put me on hold and "spoke" to someone about getting a credit to which she came back with $25. Wow! I also forgot to mention that the early termination fee is $295. Do not go with this company. Do not fall for the great rates they offer initially. Do not go with a company that out sources their customer service, or lack there of.

S. Mehaffey
August 3rd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

DON'T USE GEXA

(1 / 5)

  They are the absolute worst. Their plans are expensive- twice as much as I was paying with another company. I just signed up. I woke up yesterday and my electricity was OFF! I didn't even get notice they were turning it off! I literally have had it one month! I am paying 150 dollars just to get out of the contract with them. LOOK elsewhere. ANYWHERE else. Renewable energy is a great idea, but not if the company doesn't have a soul. We are in Texas- in the middle of a pandemic- and they will TURN OFF YOUR AC. Run away.

Sharon
August 2nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont Use Period!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Ordered service from these people not knowing this company is a joke. Ordered service, paid a deposit, had service with them for about 2 months. They cut off my service during the pandemic. Got an email from Beatrice Williams who said that the company would send my deposit to me because I was so dissatisfied with this company and its customer service. Got a final bill from this company for 4 days that was almost $300. And then get a refund check for $2.75. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. THIS COMPANY IS A PURE RIPOFF. It takes all day to talk to a customer service rep. Even if you have the company call you back and you call them at 10 in the morning, the company will not get back to you until almost 9 pm that night. The customer service does not do what it says. They dont disconnect you on time. You give them a $400 deposit, you pay $151.50 for your first bill, which is on June 27, 2020, disconnect service on the 7/3/2020. The idiot customer service rep says you have to wait until 7/4/2020 for disconnection- that just seems like a crock, because the 7/4/2020 is Independence Day -a national holiday. No one works on the 4th of July. How do I owe almost $300 for 4 days - there is no way this is possible. GEXA ENERGY IS A SCAM!! DO NOT USE YOU WILL BE SORRY IF YOU DO!

Lisa C
July 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE ALL AROUND

(1 / 5)

  Worst customer service ever. I tried calling to get proof of electric (because you can't do that online) and I get put on a call back list. 2 hours later I get a call only to be put on hold for another hour a half, and then they hang up on me, which means I have to restart the whole process over again. Absolutely terrible.

HORRIBLE ALL AROUND
July 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible service

(1 / 5)

  Terrible customer service. No sympathy for not signing up for a new plan in time. I am new to Texas and have never experienced a energy company as bad as this. I will never recommend Gexa to anybody.

David A
July 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I think their plan is a bit unethical

(2 / 5)

  I just signed up for Gexa. Supposed to be very cheap. For about 1200 sq ft, my first summer bill was $151.00 and my second one was $375.00!! Ouch! So the plan I have takes off $100.00 if you use between 1000-2000 kw. I used 2063.. so yes, that was over 2000. But this is July, and instead of a mont to month cycle, they used 33 days this cycle. Its up to them if they want to use anywhere from 28 days to 33 days. Beware of this. I just believe it is unethical when they can use fluctuations of the amount of days. I did call and questioned this and they gave me $25.00 off. The customer service rep talked very fast was very hard to understand. I am so tired of computerized care from these companies, it takes you a 20 minutes for a real person to come on and then you strain to understand every word. So funny when you call to set up service, you get to talk to an easy to understand American.. but once youre under contract!! Its so very frustrating!! And its amazing how vivid 19 effects the service of every company! My rant!!

Mary Berggren
July 29th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst ever

(1 / 5)

  These guys really do not give good service or honor what you signed up for. Very deceptive. When you call to complain all you get is a huge bunch of nonsense. So very dissatisfied!!!

Sheryl Webster
July 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never received first bill and service up for disconnect

(1.6 / 5)

  I never received a first bill. Then after 32 days of service, I get a disconnect notice and an email that my bill is ready. I look and can see a past due bill of $10, plus $20 for DNP. I am so embarrassed. I have NEVER had a disconnect notice for anything. I have been on hold for two hours with customer service and I cannot get through to anyone. No one calls back either. Please email me so that we can fix this. I paid the overdue amount but there is no bill online to show the charges. I have no idea where it came from. I also would like a credit for the DNP charge since I never received the original bill.

GalvestonTX
July 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

poor customer service

(1 / 5)

  I have waited over 1 hour to speak a customer service rep for my over charge bill. I have been over charged for a few month. when I called for the service, I was told my plan is including all the charges, but I got delivery charge for $58. I called 10 times to correct my bill, I got disconnect every time they transfer my call. Worst service.

Lucy Han
July 20th, 2020

Hello Lucy, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

YOU RAISED MY RATE!!!

(1.4 / 5)

  They did not stay with the rate I signed up for!!!

NOT HAPPY
July 17th, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

We have a service with this company and they lying to us they said we where supposed to pay 14c per wkw before the 2000 kwh and now we are paying 22c per kw thats crazy ! They dont want help us to change pur plan to a better one

(1.4 / 5)

  Im not happy with this company we are going to switch

Jose Fuentes
July 15th, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM

(1 / 5)

  Gexa Energy is a horrible company with hidden fees and zero customer service. Monthly bill is $80 higher than quoted and they refused to explain why or help with a resolution. SCAM SCAM SCAM. Don't fall for it.

duped
July 13th, 2020

Hello, our Customer Care team would like the opportunity to connect with you directly to further discuss. Please email customersupport@gexaenergy.com with the name on your account, your account number or service address, and the best phone number and timeframe to reach you. We will be happy to reach out to you to discuss. Thank you.

Gexa Energy Responds July 22nd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions