We currently recommend electricity plans from Tomorrow Energy, Starion Energy and Constellation

They Charge double than original energy company

(1.6 / 5)

  when my usage of energy keep low in winter, the price looks good. When the usage increase to 1000kwh. THEY CHARGE YOU DOUBLE!!!!. My bill in Aug turned to $220 and $100 for AEP, $ 120 for them. Don't use them! it's a trap. Even though you cancel it. the supplier would not disappear until two bill cycle.

Hazel
August 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait-and-switch

(1 / 5)

  Signed up in April, first bill $23 then $60 for May and $154 June. I know it's summer, and I expected the bill to be high but not this high! 510 Sq.ft apartment with average usage 300kWh per month. My current plan with Frontier is 18.9 cents per kWh. Anyways I decided to move to extended stay in the July/Aug billing cycle as I thought it was a cheaper options. I shut everything down and I was gone. I am in disbelieve in my hotel room reading the next bill projection from Frontier with projected amount $140!! How?! I feel stupid because early termination fee $200 was a cheaper option. Well, I hate if they got you too.. but if it's a beginning of your contract, I would advice you to cut your losses. End the contract pay the fees, don't be like me.

Eric McNamara
August 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Expensive

(2 / 5)

  You may get a somewhat fair rate at the beginning, with a contract; but once your contract is over, be ready to pay 2-3 times your average bill. You get one notice maybe 2 months ahead that your contract is about to end, but no warning about how your bill will sky rocket.

Irvingboss
August 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Non-existent customer service

(2 / 5)

  It is impossible to speak to a customer service rep. You have no problem speaking to Sales though!

kidjones
August 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont use Frontier you will get screwed

(1.6 / 5)

  Been here 7 years know how the game works. Let just say this company is awful. They say and show ya great rates then you sign up with them only to be ripped off. My 6.4 rate isnt happening its 10. Pay attention to fine print. This is the highest bill I have ever ever had and I have 9 more months with them. Dont use them go someplace else. Horrible misleading utility company. Horrible..... Take your business elsewhere.

Kathy
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I HAVE BEEN MISLED AND OVERCHARGED

(1 / 5)

  If I could give a minus 5 stars I would. I switched to Frontier based on what was supposed to be a good deal. In 10 years these are the highest bills I have ever had. The info provided when choosing a plan is misleading. I have compared usage to the last four years during the same times and usage is the same amount of usage and that is a fact; but the Frontier bills are $100+ higher than with any other provider I have used. I had a new energy efficient A/C installed last year. Switching to Frontier Utilities in Houston TX was a very expensive mistake. Current bill with them = Center Point add-on fee $170 plus $370 Frontier fee = $540 for one month and for the last 4 years the same month with other providers $100 less.

AH
August 5th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy

(4.6 / 5)

  When light got cutoff they turn them back on quickly

James Caywood
July 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(2.4 / 5)

  It started off okay until they threatened to cut my bill off for $12 it's a shame they have no roll over on your bills I wouldn't recommend it to no one. And the worst part is it's covid-19 people barely can have a job right now

Mika
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

lousy company

(1 / 5)

  i was fairly happy with frontier till the end of my contract came up. i noticed my most recent bill at the time had increased substantially, so i went online to view my previous statements to see what was going on and all i recieved when i tried to pull up my previous monthly statements was: *this statement is inaccessible* i didn't understand why my bill had suddenly almost tripled. i had signed up originally for a 6.5 cent/kwh rate along with the oncor delivery charges which came to around 10 cent/kwh for 12 months. when my 12 months had ended they jumped my cost to 16.9 cent/kwh, very excessive without informing me then the next month to 17.9/
kwh. i removed my account from autopay immediately and they started harrassing me about paying the bill since i changed providers. as it stands my monthly bills were always payable about the 2nd day of the month so the final payment as of today is still not due for another 5 days. they also claim i now owe them a late payment fee on top of their ridiculous rate increases. i have never experienced such low handed practices in my life and i do plan to notify PUC about their devios business operations.

mark
July 27th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Remember your Contract Expiration!

(2.6 / 5)

  I was never reminded by Frontier that my contract was expiring. All others have sent that reminder. Then they jacked up the price on the next month, it was more than double! Just want to warn people.

Bootgirl
July 14th, 2020

Bootgirl, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds July 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Feeling Scammed.

(2.2 / 5)

  I was coming up at the end of my contract so I called to end my tides with Frontier. I decided to go with another company after being informed about my services set up to be the same price no matter if I was using less than 1200 whatever and could have had paid a lower amount in the fall months when I don't need to run the heat or AC. Well after an hour the rep had offered me a better deal and said he would waive the charges for the late fee. Today I had to talk to a rep because I was charged an additional $28.00 for being late just one day. I asked for that fee to be waived and was told that I have been given 1 and that it had to be approved, she told me she will send me a text with confirmation or a decline, 6 hours plus, and nothing. I can't find out where I can file a complaint, so I decided to write this review. I have a son with severe Asthma who uses a nebulizer daily can hardly afford the 163.00 I owe let alone an additional 28.00 dollars and I can't have my utilities shut off. At this point, I want to end my relation have the contract waived without the early termination fee. If I was told that a 28.00 fee will automatically apply a 28.00 dollar fee I would have declined to agree to another term. Just what to pay what I owe and move on. Ridiculous to charge customers $28.00 late fee for being 1 day late especially with this Co-vid 19 mess affecting people's income and they can barely pay rent or put food on the table.

Ronie
July 7th, 2020

Ronie, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds July 23rd, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier Utilities slam

(1 / 5)

  Be very careful what you click on. The TexasElectricityRatings submit button does not allow a comparison of plans but is a "submit" to order a plan or make a contract. I clicked on a Frontier plan and this resulted in an order for service. I called Frontier immediately (2 minutes) and their rep told me "no problem" that the order had not "gone to market" and could be cancelled. This turned out not to be the case. I was also labeled as a "move-in" not as a change of service. This allowed Frontier to "sign me up" with no grace period - in other words even a cancellation after 5 minutes would be charged a $150 cancellation fee. As a final straw the plan had a displayed cost of 6.2 cents per KWH whereas the real cost was closer to 14 cents per KWH

DrClark
June 23rd, 2020

Dr. Clark, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds June 24th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

OK First Year -- But renewal plans were limited to higher priced plans.

(1.8 / 5)

  I didn't want to, but I will change providers after my first year with Frontier to get a decent rate. Apparently loyal customers are only wanted if you want to accept one of their higher priced plans after the first contract expires. I diligently searched on-line and found a plan from Frontier that was a bit higher (but not too much) than some others that I had found, so my first inclination was to stay with Frontier since I hadn't had any bad experiences with them. I still haven't. Unfortunately, since Frontier will not allow me to select the plan that is best for my circumstances, I have now decided it is in my best interest to change providers. I have a medium sized home and most of my usage is below 1000 KWh except in the summer months, so I want a plan with a low fixed KWh rate and without the "so called credit" when usage is above the 1000 KWh mark where nearly all utilities have plans to sucker the unsuspecting with a low rate displayed in the 1000 KWh field in the Electricity Facts Label (EFL). The bottom line is, I will be changing providers mainly because they will not allow me to pick from some of their other plans that are available on the web that are competitive with other companies.

Tim Cox
June 2nd, 2020

Tim Cox, we understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds June 5th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Crooked business

(1.4 / 5)

  They loose your cancellation notice and pile on fee after fee after fee. If you attempt to call to resolve the issue, they will disconnect your call continuously or lie about calling you back after am investigation. You will never receive a call back. They also like to send out billing notices after the last day to pay without penalty yo ensure they connect late fees. Very crooked business practices and extremely poor customer service.

We will call you back
May 22nd, 2020

We understand your frustration and truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with us as a Frontier customer, and would love the opportunity to connect with you directly to see what how we can improve and assist. Can you please email us at care@frontierutilities.com with your name and account information so that we can investigate further? Hope to connect with you soon. Thank you

Frontier Utilities Responds May 29th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Frontier utility

(1.6 / 5)

  Extremely dishonest for 1 year my utility Bill was the same down yo the penny 149.62 even when utilities were turned off for vacation,.

Comparison pricing
May 8th, 2020

Thank you for your feedback.
I am truly sorry you are not happy with our services. We would like to discuss this matter with you and see how we can help, please call our customer care department at 1-866-925-8192. We are open today till 6pm.
Thank you,
Frontier Utilities

Frontier Utilities Responds May 11th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shop around and Read Reviews

(1.8 / 5)

  I use this electricity company(pre paid)when I'm working on my rental homes. I thought since that went well I would get a month to month for another small house on my property. My bill was $13-$15 BUT if I paid **1 DAY** late I got a disconnect payment of $20 EVEN if on the billing statement it says 5.0% after due date. Please be careful with this company do your research and shop around. I'm happy that I have Reliant Energy for my own house.

Unsatisfied Customer
May 5th, 2020

Thank you for your feed back.

I am sorry you where not happy with our services. I will share this feed back with my team. If you would like to discuss more regarding the fee you can contact our customer service department at 1-866-926-8192.

Thanks,
Frontier Utilities.

Frontier Utilities Responds May 5th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging company

(2.2 / 5)

  Just before contract expires make sure to renew with them or another company as Frontier will price gouge you with an astonishing rate per kilowatt that youve never seen before. Once they know you have switched beware, no loyalty!

Mark M
April 17th, 2020

Good Afternoon Mark M,
Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide competitive rates for you when it comes time to renew. If you can please send an email to care@frontierutilities.com and provide me with your account number, I can have an agent go over our rates we have to offer in your area. There maybe something else we can offer you that may be lower then what you are currently paying now. Thanks.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 20th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are deceiving, stay away

(1 / 5)

  Their agent promised me that, I will pay less than usual unless the usage is high. But, usage is less, bill is 50% more than previous bill. They are lying and cheating. Stay away from Frontier Utilities

Y.E.
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are professional deceivers

(1 / 5)

  Agent of Frontier Utilities came my home and explained advantages of their company. Several times I asked her if there will be any hidden fees or not. She assured me that I will not see higher bill than I had before if the usage is not higher. I got my first bill from them, usage was less, but the bill is 50% more. And now they say that, it will take 2-3 bills for me to go back to Columbia Gas. This is trick. That's why stay away from them. If you see their agent before your door, do not trust their any words or promises. This is my live experience, unfortunately.

YASHAR EHTIBARLI
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Intentionally Deceptive Rate Advertising

(1.2 / 5)

  I recently signed up for the Frontier Utilities Easy Bill 12 plan, which advertises that below 1000 kWh there is a flat rate of $75 and at 1000 it is 7.4 cents/kWh. Be aware that at 1001 kWh the rate goes up to 19.9 cents/kWh. This can be seen on the Facts Label but is intentionally placed so that it is easy to miss, which I did. I called to ask about switching to a different plan to avoid the cancellation fee but the man I talked to, though he was nice enough, was only able to offer 1 other very high rate plan.

Tara W.
April 1st, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback and letting us know about this issue. We set a high standard for ourselves and are truly sorry to hear that standard was not met in your interaction with us. Please get in touch with us on (866) 926-8192 and we'd be happy to help you out.

Frontier Utilities Responds April 6th, 2020

As an update I did call the customer service # back and spoke to another representative after receiving my bill for the full early termination fee. This man listened to my concern, put me on hold for a couple of minutes, then came back letting me know he had tried to "twist someone's arm" to help me but that I still had to pay. I told him I was aware of the fact that it was in the contract but that I hoped someone would be willing to understand why I was not happy about the way the rate was advertised. I asked to speak with a supervisor, was put on hold for about 10 min, then was asked if I could get a call back right after the supervisor got off the phone. I never received a call back.

Tara W. Replies April 13th, 2020
Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions