Read APG&E Reviews


APG&E Customer Reviews

The best review categories for APG&E are the order experience, rated at 1.9 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.7 of 5.

APG&E Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.5 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

45 Reviews and 1 Replies for APG&E


Awful Company

(1 / 5)

  Beware! Company has predatory Variable Rate pricing when a contract price expires. Variable Rate pricing is 2X to 3X the contact rate prices, and they will begin billing you at this rate the day your contract expires.

PA Customer
December 10th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Company

(1 / 5)

  The customer service is the poorest I have experienced yet. They will shut your service off when you don't owe and will respond like an idiot when you request to go over the bill with them. Now I get a bill showing over payment of more than $600. The company has not contacted me to apologize or to return my money and with hat aid, the bill is still incorrect. I would never recommend anyone to use this company for utility service.

#totallydissatisfied
October 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrifying

(1 / 5)

  A salesperson came to my house. When I told him I wasn't interested he just continued his sales pitch. I asked him to leave. He continued but started getting really mean. I told him to get off my property and never return. He started yelling and cursing at me, calling me names and saying that he will keep coming back every f*ing day and there's nothing I can do about it.

Dangerous scam
September 4th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

know when you need to shop again

(1 / 5)

  They will charge you triple the price after contract will expire, make sure you know when you need to shop again! Better go with another offer, you will regret dealing with them.

Burebista
July 2nd, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This is a scam.

(1 / 5)

  Some really unprofessional looking guy came to our door and was really pushy while asking about our electric bill. My boyfriend is the one in charge of handling it so he was the one talking to the guy. The guy had some city accent I had difficulty understanding but it sounded as if he was telling my boyfriend something to the effect of our electric supplier was changing something and my boyfriend needed to sign something and make a call.

This whole ordeal was screaming, "SCAM," to me and I outright asked if it was a scam after reading reviews for APG&E online. The guy insisted it wasn't, which is a load of crap. Unfortunately my boyfriend allowed the guy to leave with the paper he signed so now we're just trying to fix things. One of the papers the guy left said we had 3 business days to cancel the transaction. My boyfriend called the number immediately after the guy left to cancel it once I was able to convince him it was indeed a scam. So hopefully that will help resolve this quickly.

A word to the wise...don't sign anything for pretty much anyone who randomly comes to your door unless it's the mail person asking you to sign for a package.

Tara
April 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pushy an dishonest door to door salesmen

(1 / 5)

  Someone came to my door looking very official. I already knew what this was about since I already signed up with someone else 2 weeks ago to North American Power. They offer a $50 Visa card after the first month and another $50 after 6 months. However they charge 12 cents for the first 3 months and 14 cents for the remaining 9 months, so since I'm using around 500 Kwh a month, I would be paying like $9 more a month for 9 months (PSE&G is generally around 12.2 cents) which would mean around $81 more, so the $100 should cover that! Luckily the gas didn't go through since the agent transposed 2 digits on the bill. Lucky because they actually charge 73 cents per therm, while PSE&G is only like 37 cents!!! WTF?!

Anyway when this guy from APG&E came he had this story how he's going to make sure my bill is equalized and fixed or whatever bull**** they are making up. I told him I know exactly what the story is. I showed him my bill and he was trying to tell me that the way PSE&G breaks down the 500 Kwh into parts, like you pay 12.23 cents for the first 340 Kwh, then you pay say 12.41 cents for the next 160 Kwh, and finally 12.39 for the last 55 Kwh is a big problem and he's going to make it all go away by having me pay a fixed 13 cents all year round. He was saying prices go up in the summer. Yeah but the variable rate based on usage isn't a bad thing, it varies by how much you're using which seems pretty fair to me. Anyway at 13 cents I'd be paying like $5 more a month, and someone who owns a house would be paying at least $10 to $20 more a month!

Anyway beware of these pushy salesmen trying to make you switch because very often your usual utility is giving you a damn good deal that you can't really beat with anybody else! So much for "energy choice" If you really wanna save a BUNDLE just put some solar panels on the roof, it tends to cut your bill to like half!

TekWiz
March 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst,beware of the apg&e trap

(1 / 5)

  Some guy knocked the door, he said for checking bill,, and made my wife sign contract for apg&e without telling anything. my wife who was new to this country unkowingly signed it,and stuck in this crap... This is the worst thing. Never fall in this trap..

Garlic
January 24th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE!

(1 / 5)

  First - the bill arrives and before it can be mailed and them receive and FINALLY post it, it is past due -
Second - the customer service is AWFUL - the rudest people i have EVER dealt with. Nothing works - the automated service is always down - paying online is a joke - the only other option is taking it to a CASH store to pay there and they charge a fee. Cannot wait for this contract to be up! I have a business account with 4 meters/bills and this has been the longest 3 years dealing with these people.

Sandy
October 17th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Fast talking contract scam

(1 / 5)

  I called customer service when my contract was up. We worked out a price and contract length. After that she started talking very fast for a contract recording. I fell for it and agreed. I now have a higher rate, and my contract expired at 6 months instead of 12. I should have recorded her!

Matthew Banister
June 19th, 2015

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible!!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Was never able to access my account online so I was force to call every month to pay my bill. Hold times would run way pass 30 minutes. Finally had to disconnect service as I was moving to a condo that already has electrical service. I pay my bill I the 1st of each month only to get a voicemail from a rep advising that my account will be sent to collections and it's the 5th of the month. I only owe $50 and the disconnection fee of $150. As I attempt to get a hold of this rep all day - I finally get a hold of her. When she asks if I am ready to make payment on my account I let her know that I am, but would like to speak to someone else. As she denies me that possibility - I now request that she forward my call to a supervisor which she again refuses to do - when I ask a 2nd time - DISCONNECTED!!!!! Horrible customer service!!!!! AVOID!!!!!!

Carolyn
December 5th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

No Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Avoid this company. They never answer their telephone. Their website is not user friendly. They don't send out invoices either online or mail them and you never know the total amount until it gets auto-charged. Their website never recognizes your password and never sends a password restore when you click the link. Then you have to register again, with the same password, every time with all those long numbers, just to view your monthly bill that they never send you. Right now, I have been on hold for customer service for 40 minutes with nobody coming on during business hours.

Nancy Graml
October 20th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Sign up at your own risk!!!

(1 / 5)

  1) Never received an enrollment confirmation via email or postmarked mail
2) Never received EFL, Terms, or Rights documents
3) Never received notice to review and rescind the terms of service within 3 days for a switch
4) Never received a bill
5) Received a disconnection notice
6) Incurred late fees even though no bill was received
7) After several request of all pertinent documents with a customer care rep (and told within 24-48 hours), still no sign of the docs.

Anonymous
August 8th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAMMERS 4 SURE!!

(1 / 5)

  1. Who threatens disconnect for $35 without a 1st billing?
2. Who charges for a deposit over 1 month after contract start without notice or agreement whatsoever?
3. What website takes the full amount when the payee changes the debit amount?

HERE IS WHO! APG&E AKA www.apge.com

PAUL A. RHODES, SR.
June 15th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service

(1 / 5)

  Have been unable to get anyone to answer my phone calls. I've been calling all week to cancel service. I have also sent emails but recd no response.

Maria Sams
May 10th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scam agents

(1 / 5)

  Beware when an "agent" comes to you claiming to be from your existing energy company. APG&E hires scam artist that LIE to you and trick you into signing an agreement. You then end up with a contract that obligates you to this company; which was through unethical and criminal means. I will be filing a complaint with BBB about their work ethics. I have very disappointed and angry. Please save yourself the hassle and stay away from this company.

Diana
May 30th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Angry

(1 / 5)

  I own a hair salon and while working on clients 3 men entered my salon and said they need to help me straighten out my electric bill. They said I was being double charged for distribution and sales tax and they were sent by PECO to correct it. My husband had to come over from his bike shop next door to follow up with them because I was working on a client. They had him sign paperwork and left. Later I looked over the paperwork and they sign us up with APG&E energy. They LIED to us and scammed us into signing up with them. Of course I called and canceled right away and reported them to the BBB. What a horrible company. NO STAR'S for them at all.

Nancy Barr
May 19th, 2012

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unbelievable

(0.8 / 5)

  Changed providers and never saw a bill. Finally got a bill and discovered that it was mailed on 4/11/14 and was due on 4/14/14 or late charges would be applicable. Pay the same day or get extra charges? The statement indicated that seven days should be allowed for mail. Late no matter how you look at it. So I tried to call customer service. Waited 14 minutes the first time and then was disconnected. Tried to transfer to the pay bill option on the next call and waited 20 minutes or so and still no answer. Good elevator music but no agent. This company truly needs to get it's act together.

Wonder if a complaint to the Texas Public Utility Commission and the BBB will get their attention?

Tommy
April 14th, 2014

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Too Risky Will Not Switch!!

(0.2 / 5)

  After reading others reviews, AND checking this company out at the BBB, (CHECK THEM OUT NOT GOOD), I feel it is too risky to switch providers. Customer service is just as important to me as a low rate, and I don't want/need any headaches right now. I will stay with the provider I have. These reviews and BBB especially, were very helpful!

Pat
August 26th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Not good - do your homework

(0.2 / 5)

  Doing research today on this company considering a switch to them. Their website shows them as a BBB accredited business and A+ rating. The BBB site shows they are NOT an accredited business, and their rank is 'F'. Look here: http://www.bbb.org/houston/business-reviews/utility-contractors/affordable-power-lp-in-houston-tx-16002165#reasonrating

Anthony
January 4th, 2013

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Competitively Priced, but not so reliable

(0 / 5)

  Yeah, their pricing is pretty good for the area, but service members can be incredibly challenging reach and billing is not exactly streamlined

Rob
January 27th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...