Read Ambit Energy Reviews


Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

451 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


Bad overall

(1 / 5)

  Never in this life time will I recommend this light company to no one... very inconsiderate

Inconsiderate
January 20th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharging and bad customer service

(1 / 5)

  Been a customer since 2016, but lately the are overcharging me, taking advantage of the autopay..2 bedroom $279.00 tv,fridge,couple light bulbs. Its time for change.:(

Kb
January 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nightmare service

(1.2 / 5)

  I unfortunately got covid and my family unable to work through holidays begging ambit to please assist me as I had no income they would not care to hear me out and disconnected me during 30 degree weather with my child using ventilator for covid would never recommend need to find a new company wish they would have atleast help me with partial very dissatisfied!!

Bad experience
January 11th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Ridiculously high prices

(1 / 5)

  I moved from Ohio to Dallas. I promise for over 6 years living in my 2 bedroom apartment, I never paid over $100. I come here is 3 bedroom, I expect something a little higher. First bill $135 (ok), next bill $235 , what?!! My third bill is $415!!!! There is no absolute way in the whole world, this is possible. This company is a scam. They are not doing something right!!! No way

Mrs Ekun
January 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont waste your energy using theirs

(1 / 5)

  This is the absolute worse company ever I was disconnected on an installment planned I wasnt properly explained in detail what needed to be paid in full...Paid $268 to be billed the following 2 days a bill for $280 they all about money Im switching to TXU who I shouldve chose to begin with....This business is a complete rip off please read the reviews before you get in a contract with them $199 or $299 Im getting away from this mess!!!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR ENERGY

Kim Sampson
January 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Honestly pretty bad

(1 / 5)

  Billing was inconsistent in pricing, notices were sent out inconsistently and some didn't even arrive at all, customer services answer to everything was our site is being worked on just hit pay, the site barely loads and is very slow when it finally decides to do so, and prices are higher than others and will hike at a moments notice.

Nate
December 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

FRAUDULENT OPERATIONS, CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for service with Ambit Energy on November 7th, but ended up not moving into the property as planned.

I called Ambit Energy to cancel my service on December 2nd, which the customer service rep. assured me she had done. The Company then decided to launch an investigation into the bill (as i NEVER moved into the apartment, and so could not have consumed any energy in there, right?).

The cancellation was requested on December 2nd. On December 27th however, I received notice of a new bill for the month of December.
Ambit Energy failed to stop service on December 2nd like I requested, and continued to charge me for service to an apartment that has remained EMPTY (according to apartment complex).
I called Ambit Energy with this development and they vehemently REFUSED to admit their wrongdoing and adjust the bill, trying to force me into paying for a service I requested to be cancelled THREE WEEKS prior.
The Supervisor, Nate kept me on the phone for 1.5hours, arguing and telling me they couldnt have cancelled my service at MY request, because they didn't want to inconvenience whoever (fictional person he made up on the call) may have been living there AFTER i told them to cancel service to that apartment, owing to not living there.
This is blatant theft and very fraudulent behaviour from this company. I wouldn't trust them with anything.

Valerie
December 30th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Do NOT use Ambit

(1 / 5)

  Im 53 years old. I have used several electricity companies throughout my adult years and Ambit is hands down the worst. They literally play games with you to get money. They will tell you your bill is due on a certain day and still cut your electric off a week before to charge you a reconnect fee. They will tell you they are waiving the reconnect fee and then add it to your next bill. We have had our electric turned off 5 times this year, twice during the quarantine, despite paying our bill. Please tell me how someone 53 years old who has never had their electric turned off, gets shut off 5 times in one year. The constant here is Ambit. Theyre complete trash. We went with them according to our apts suggestion and I regret it. Switching as soon as our contract is up. Pure evil.

Angry old woman thats not even a Karen
December 29th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Wish I could give them zero stars

(1.6 / 5)

  I am just an average customer better off than some I would suppose but nothing to brag about. Ambit was ok at first but their price gets higher and higher. I am just finishing my contract and am running like the wind. (inside joke since I weight 350 and my idea of running is contrary to most)
I have a 2 bedroom apt and my bills are like 200 bucks a month. I call to inquire and they change plans and lock me into another year. I had to dig deep into my bill and found that my rate was totally different than what I was told.

So I had needed for the first time in my time with them a payment arrangement. Well it was only 2 months total and the bill was 500 bucks. I was like how can my bill be that much. They didn't know just wanted money. So ok what can you help me with.

Well for starters they say you need to pay half.... I was like wth? Then finish it off in too months the past due amount. So since my past due was 500 I paid 250 down. Then my regular payments of 200 a month. So that's 450 the first month. Then 125 plus my regular bill that's 375 for the next 2 months? Yeah thanks a lot of nothing AMBIT.

I have COPD and sleep with a ventilator. I told them please don't turn off my electricity I need my machine to breath when I nap or lie down. They wanted a doctors form so I get it take it my dr then fax it back to them. OH WOW... they never receive it. I sent them via email... (which like others say in their posts... it gets bounced backed to me) and I have also faxed it. Tried it for 2 months straight and nothing changed.

I was not asking for a handout. I work hard.... wanted to pay what's due and not take advantage of the system. They won't help you.

10 bucks for sending you a disconnect notice.... 40 bucks if you pay the bill when they have already sent a notice out but before its turned out..... yes explain that to me. 2.50 for a debit card payment... everything everyone is saying is true.

Run from them. Don't ever use them..... if you do you have been warned

Angry in Texas
December 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor billing and customer service

(1 / 5)

  Was on autopay but they would screw that up at least 1x per year and then charge a late fee! Trying to get them to reverse it was like trying to do a corporate merger- not worth the time and effort.

Noambit
December 18th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bill is too confusing!

(2 / 5)

  I just moved in with my mother. I tried to read bill statement. It was the most confusing piece of paper I've ever read in my life. I'd give this a 5 stars but I can't call customer service to change anything. Confusing. Why can't Ambit just display our meter reading and bill due? If pay it immediately, but I can't because of all the "adjustments". Too confusing!

Confusing statement!
December 13th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liar Liar, Cheater, Thief

(2.2 / 5)

  Ambit Energy is not like your standard corporation. They are also a network marketing company. Simply giving them a blanket rating as a whole really doesn't give a good enough picture of the value they provide consumers. This can get complicated fast so for a simpler approach I'm going to rate Ambit as a corporation (i.e. provider of their services, including customer service), their representatives (i.e. their consultants) and compliance (i.e. the group that oversees the consultants).

Ambit Energy Corporation: 4/5

"Never sacrifice integrity for growth" is Ambit's motto. It is impossible to please everyone but I believe Ambit as a provider of electric and gas succeeds at this as well as any sufficiently large corporation can. Having visited their facilities, they are not lavish and I suspect they are more in line with how people would want corporations to manage themselves. It was rather inspiring and refreshing. They have a very diverse set of corporate employees and their employees seem to be happy and well paid. Not everyone will have a great experience with customer service but Ambit does do extensive training.

Ambit Consultants: 0/5

Complete lack of integrity. In my own experience and by the reviews I have read, most of the complaints fall here. In short, it's about the money and not you no matter how much the consultant may claim otherwise. They want your bill or you as a consultant so they can get as much money as quickly as possible. Getting you as a consultant will earn you some cash but ultimately they want the bonus monies that doing so will net them. This is why many customers are never informed about the gotchas when signing up because if they had known they more than likely would have declined.

Ambit Field Compliance: 0/5

Lack of upholding the corporate motto of "Never sacrifice integrity for growth". I know consultants who purposefully broke the rules for gain. Field compliance failed to follow through and do what is right, period. It takes more than consultants doing what is right to protect the "golden goose", it takes a watchdog and that group is field compliance.

Overall: 1/5

If your motto is "Never sacrifice integrity for growth", you must move heaven and earth to preserve it.

Summary:

If Ambit is your supplier of choice, I suggest switching your bill without going through a consultant and letting your bill fall on the house account. If the consultant has been featured in a magazine for their "success", it means nothing other than they've fooled more people...if someone lied and/or cheated to gain a dollar, that makes them a thief.

Greed
December 10th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!

(1 / 5)

  This isn't worth the switch. I moved and my automatic payment information did not get set up with the new address. My service was disconnected and I literally paid it and reset my payment up on the autopay within 2 minutes from the disconnect. I called to see if the reconnect notice had been sent and was told it was. But Oncor informed me that my order was never sent through. I hate that I left my previous provider and I will be cancelling today!

Rasheda
December 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Don't do it!

(1 / 5)

  This isn't worth the switch. I moved and my automatic payment information did not get set up with the new address. My service was disconnected and I literally paid it and reset my payment up on the autopay within 2 minutes from the disconnect. I called to see if the reconnect notice had been sent and was told it was. But Oncor informed me that my order was never sent through. I hate that I left my previous provider and I will be cancelling today!

Rasheda
December 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad billing practices with charges that are unexplainable.

(1.2 / 5)

  The worst crooked Company to deal with. I live in an apartment and pretty much do not waste electricity. October 30th cleared my bill and was zero balance, today I check on their recording and I owe $240, after being told by yet another confused billing support clown. This company is a fraud and Im done with their bs. The worst crooks ever.

TC
November 25th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Shut off 15 days past due

(1 / 5)

  I came home to my power off and when I called they said I was past due 15 days. I was unaware that I was past due but only 15 days grace period is ridiculous. They told me it would take 24 hours to turn my electric back on meanwhile all my food in the fridge is getting warm. Switching companys today and will never use them nor refer anyone to them again.

Andy B
November 20th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Absolute Worst!!! All I want is a receipt!

(1 / 5)

  I paid my Bill in full to Ambit Energy and they refused to give me a receipt. I was told I would get a receipt sent to me in 48 business hours! Who does this! When someone pays for service an automatic receipt should be generated. In addition to that the customer service is the absolute worst! The rates arent that much different than a more legit energy company. I would advise everyone to NEVER use Ambit Energy for your energy needs. All I want is a receipt!

Chrystie Johnson
November 16th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Why are you making me pay reconnect when i moved

(1 / 5)

  Horrible company!!!!! We moved andI canceled service on Oct 9th ....waited and paided bill like they said to be disconnected and final bill reading. Just got a call that my bill was due ok???? will called and they are trying to get 100 you know why..... 15 dollar disconnect and get this a 45 dollar reconnect fee!!!! I CANCELED SERVICE OVER A MONTH AGO!!!! No customer service what so ever available now. I Can't wait for my lawyer to get this one!

Alyssa B
November 12th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The company is a scam They over charge customer

(1 / 5)

  I had to change them violating the contract company is a scam

Jose Mejia
November 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Liars and Scammers

(1 / 5)

  I signed up for ambit because it was recommended to me by the same person who helped us find out apartment and we were living in a rush so I didnt have the time I would have liked to research my options. I went through the entire process and enrolled in autopay only to learn that for some reason my 3rd party verification call failed even though I have phone record to prove it didnt. Because of this I now have a vacant electric charge from my apartment and nobody from Ambit can explain why this happened. They are refusing to cover the charge or ever offer a reduced rate for the misunderstanding. Please do not use them for any reason. Ill be canceling as soon as I find a better company.

Lynn
October 31st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions




Example Bill
loading...