Read Ambit Energy Reviews


Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.6 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 1.6 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

472 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


Their website is horrible

(1.4 / 5)

  They shut off my electricity because theirr website for some reason won't take my payment. I've tried multiple ways of paying for it and then got a notice that it wasn't paid. I called and they said it was my fault and that I should have made sure that it went through. I had to pay to turn it back on and pay late fees even after I had confirmation that I paid it but it never pulled out of my account. I've tried to set up auto pay three times and it still says I'm not signed up for auto pay. They told me that it could be up to 24 hours before my electricity would be turned back on, thankfully it didn't take that long. Overall I'm super dissatisfied.

Aw
August 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Save your self and your money- do NOT trust Ambit

(1 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit for years on and off when they are available in my area. At the end of my last contact I didnt renew because I was looking to move and didnt know what area. My house is only 1,200 sqft and I do not keep it down in the 60s. My bills have been outrageous, far more than I have ever paid in my life. Im using 1000-1200 kWh and my last 2 bills have been over $200 a month. I enrolled with another provider and Ambit called me asking what they could do to keep me! I laughed and said nothing and explained the reason, the rep said if I ever changed my mind give them a call! Well, Ill tell you NOT a chance in HELL. My last bill was almost $300! Are you out of your fricken mind! Stay clear of this company! If TX didnt deregulate they would be invested

TC
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Lights out

(2.2 / 5)

  Cheap rates, but you get what you pay for! Dont expect a text or call if you forget the bill. Out sourced call center , good luck chuck. Look elsewhere the 1 star reviews are probably there for a reason?

D
August 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont use ambit energy never!

(1 / 5)

  Dont use ambit energy! I choose it because I though I will benefit from it but theyll give you some plans and then they will higher the price this is an absurd company never choose ambit.

Ambit
August 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Another Planet

(1.8 / 5)

  Don't expect to understand, over the phone, the out-sourced Ambit call-takers. Don't expect any dialects of American English to be spoken. Ambit's call-takers and their supervisors articulation, pronunciation, and dialect--while supposedly communicating in English--is from another planet.

Since January 2016, I've been an Ambit customer today is July 30, 2021. Yesterday, I wrangled with three different call-takers and presumably one supervisor over a billing issue. By the time that I gave up, I felt as though I'd been wrestling with a bear for several hours.

At the end of last month (June 30, 2021), I paid my bill in full using their automated telephone system. With their paper statement in front of me showing the total balance due, I write my check for that exact same amount (using my carbon-copy checkbook). On the top of my check, as well as on the top of their paper statement, I note something such as this:

pd by ph 6/30/21
ck# 1234
cf#abc123def456 (confirmation #)

I noticed yesterday that their most current statement shows me as owing a past-due balance of $2.50. Inspecting last month's statement and my carbon copy check that I had stapled to it, nope...I had written that check for the same amount as "total due." Upon further inspection of last month's statement, however, I saw on the 2nd page the lesser amount their call takers had been insisting to me was the amount I had paid. It was $2.50 less. Then, I saw their electronic processing fee was $2.50.

The supposed supervisor (my 4th contact) told me that I would have to prove what I had paid last month by faxxing to Ambit my carbon copy check. I did fax that, in addition to that particular statement and the current statement that shows the unpaid balance of $2.50. The supervisor promised that I would hear back from Ambit in 48 hours.

Oh. Let me add this. During the disastrous week of the infamous Texas ice storm and power outages, I had no electric power from Monday February 15, 2021, to Thursday evening of February 18. My bill covering that period was astronomically high--as in, $200 range instead of the $100 and below range. I called about that, back then. But again, Ambit's call-takers' versions of spoken English and their reliance upon reading their required script (passed off as "conversation") had me feeling as though I were wrestling bears.

I HIGHLY do NOT recommend Ambit Energy for the sole reason of their outsourced call-taker agents. Their oral language skills are 'outa this world'...as if they are from another planet.

Eve Raine
July 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible customer service

(1.4 / 5)

  The service was ok, but when it came time to cancel my college daughter's account, they turned over the deposit to a third party to return. Two months later, I can't get them on the phone, and believe it is a scam to retain all deposits.I would not choose them again!!!

Richard
July 26th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Pissed Paying Customer

(1 / 5)

  So my bill usually runs between 65-75 bucks. I recently received my bill and wow, it was extremely higher than normal. Of course I understand it is the summer however I wouldnt have a problem with that if I was actually using the unit! You got it, I was out of town for a while like 3 weeks to a month! Everything was unplugged except the refrigerator. So explain it to me please! Then I make a complaint and ask for a call from the manager and this idiot calls a customer at 7am! Who in the hell is running this business!

Pissed customer
July 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Price gouging

(1 / 5)

  At first my rate was fixed my bill wasn't to much after you renew however my bill kept getting higher and higher in the $500 dollar range and I am a light nazi i dont burn electricity after switching to a new company i have a $1000 dollar refund that i have been waiting on since June and they keep giving me the runaround i call and am told its in the mail 10 to 14 business days i was told this 3 different times at this point i believe they are trying to keep my money there are 2 things that I can not stand a liar and a thief and this company is both a liar and a thief do not give them youre business

Don
July 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Payment fees

(1 / 5)

  Paying a bill and there is a FEE to pay online ($2.50), over the phone ($5) and in-person ($4). No free payment option at all per Hannah in customer service. A charge to PAY your bill is absolutely ridiculous.

Upset TX Customer
July 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Disconnected

(3 / 5)

  Simple. Disconnected me for $56.25 for 3 hrs lol. Hot temp here in Addison Tx Friday thru the Midday, (no less). Ended up paying $79 & change instead of adding it to the next billing cycle. Definitely switching back to previous provider. Not even worth it if u have 2 steal from your consumers Ey?.

#It's resolved.com
July 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

HORRIBLE SERVICE PROVIDER

(1 / 5)

  My account has been cancelled twice. Once due to their mistake of turning on the power at the wrong house and cancelling my account. This left me in the TEXAS SUMMER HEAT with no electricity. I was then told the only way to get my power back on was if i set up a new account (2nd account with ambit now).. so i did. But of course, it is a more expensive and longer plan. Somehow they did not offer my current plan anymore (convenient). Fast forward 3 weeks, i set up auto pay on my new 2nd account. After my first bill, i notice my account is cancelled and i am ONCE AGAIN left in the TEXAS SUMMER HEAT with no power. I have talked to numerous customer service agents, not one of them can seem to figure it out. However, the only way to resolve this problem and get my power back on would be to make ANOTHER account. My THIRD ACCOUNT in 2 months!!!!! No help whatsoever. They are not there to help, they just want to explain why their rates are the best. It doesnt matter what the rates are when YOU HAVE NO POWER. I am done with Ambit. So here i am, sitting in a 90 degree house until another electricity company can come turn the power back on. Waiting for the $200 disconnection fee Im sure they will care me. And why did all of this happen, you ask??? Because i signed up for auto pay and cancelled my own account. Not ONCE did i miss a payment. I wish i could give them 0 stars. Please save yourself the gray hair and find another provider.

Worst provider ever..
July 18th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stay away from Ambit!

(1.2 / 5)

  Nate Supervisor of Accounts Horrible!! Breathing into the phone, and sounded like he was asleep and was extremely knowledgeable.
I have also been outright lied to and all of the customer service reps and supervisors are unknowledgeable to the extent of being fraudulent due to their lack of simple knowledge of well anything having to do with your account.
To say they are ABSOLUTELY NO HELP is an understatement!
Their lack of knowledge and their consistent combative and UNHELPFUL interactions boarders on the fraudulent and is beyond infuriating!
They are downright and actually are, at best, extremely indifferent and lackadaisical, and almost always adversarial and rude.
This is especially true if you question them about contradictions and inaccurate information they give you about your account.
STAY AWAY!!!! Any potential cost savings (which is rally not anything to get excited about), is NOT WORTH IT!! - USE ANOTHER ENERGY COMPANY FOR YOU OWN SANITY!!!
Also, most of their customer service reps and supervisors can barely speak English, making any communication with them even more impossible and pretty much useless.
Again I give you this warning: STAY AWAY FROM AMBIT ENERGY!!!!
Any potential cost savings (which is really not anything to get excited about), is NOT WORTH IT!! - USE ANOTHER ENERGY COMPANY FOR YOU OWN SANITY!!!

Stay Away from Ambit!
July 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Misguiding!! Save your money and dont use them!

(1 / 5)

  I was told when I decided to switch my service from TXU to Ambit if I signed up for the summer plan that my bill would be 1/2 off from June to the end of September. Now I had been with TXU for years but I thought this sounded like a great plan so I switched! Well when I get my June bill its definitely not 1/2 off like I was told. I had a 28.00 discount.. So this agent totally lied to me when I signed up. Now if I wanna change services I get penalized and I cant change my plan cuz its past the 30 days. I should have known after I paid an $80.00 deposit and 15 days later I have a $72.00 bill. Save the heartache and find a better company!!!

Ashley Foster
June 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Poor Customer Support and Service

(1.6 / 5)

  1. Did not understand contract expiration date and Ambit defaulted me to a very expensive plan.
2. I use online banking, typically carry a credit on my account, bank changed software, Ambit account was not paid, customer service informed me 1 day to pay before disconnect. Would not work with me after being a several year customer.

KH
June 12th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharged scam

(1 / 5)

  they are overcharging me, taking advantage of the autopay..2 bedroom $378 w.t.f

Yuri
June 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible company, terrible service

(1 / 5)

  I switched to a new energy company after 5+ years with Ambit. They would not send me any proof of cancellation. After I paid what should have been my final invoice, there apparently another invoice that never received. No email, no letter informing me of a balance on my account. I had no idea I owed anything until I received a letter from a collections agency - followed by a letter from Ambit saying there was a CREDIT on my account and they would send me a gift card in the amount they owed me. How do you send me to collections and then say you owe me money? Shady business practices and an unethical business model (multilevel marketing). Stay far, far, far away.

kap
May 30th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst Energy Company in Texas

(1 / 5)

  Ambit Energy is possibly the worst energy company in the State of Texas. Their customer service is absolutely terrible, you will get multiple different answers from different people and none of which are even correct. They will most likely bill you
twice on more than one occasion which happened to me multiple times. This process was by far the worst. If you want a refund dont even bother it will take upward of 1-2 months to receive via Wirecard ( some sketchy prepaid card company) just take the credit for the next bill. I made the mistake one time of asking for a refund. They changed my plan in the middle of a contract to a more expensive energy usage without letting me know. To rebound off of this you cannot even view your usage any longer via their app or website. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this company.

Michael
May 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

This not it Chief

(1 / 5)

  Horrible electricity company gave me an outstanding balance during the snow storm in feb and I wasnt staying in my apt for 4 days and always an issue with paying the bill. Do not choose them they are horrible

Christopher
May 21st, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scheme!!! Outrageous Bill!!!

(1 / 5)

  Don't live in home and first bill was $228 second bill $286 when breaker box was turned off for the second month do to I was going to be returning to home. Called and they told me that when meter was read it was a increase in usage. Asked what days do they come out she couldn't tell me, couldn't guarantee a specific day. If I wanted meter reread I would have to pay. Such a rip off !!! Was so in disbelief I had to screenshot messages!!!

Cory
May 16th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Never Requested Service with Ambit

(1 / 5)

  I have never requested service with Ambit. This is the 3rd time I get switched from my current provider to Ambit. I was told to contact Ambit to ask how they retrieved my personal information. They simply told me anyone who decides to input my information on line can just transfer my service no questions asked. I asked them how if my social security is used, I was told, we dont need your SSN. No assistance at all, agent kept repeating herself and told me that would just need to keep getting my service back with my current provider until whomever is doing it stops.

Mel
May 11th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...