Read Ambit Energy Reviews


Ambit Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for Ambit Energy are the order experience, rated at 1.7 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.7 of 5.

Ambit Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 2.6 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

449 Reviews and Replies for Ambit Energy


Charging extra money

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever they charge us so many extra fees and on their official website rates are different for the plan we have every month they charge more money we are not even at home. Our bill for this month for 1 bedroom apartment was $47. 63 but with all other fees they charged us $84.79. DO NOT RECOMMEND!!!

Scammers
April 17th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Nonsensical Rates

(1.2 / 5)

  Bills would jump from $60 to $110 from month to month with no change in my usage. There was one month that I was charged over $100 for my one-bedroom apartment, despite the fact that I was out of town for almost three weeks that month and made sure everything was off and unplugged.

They stuck me with a bill for $150 on my final month with no explanation.

There are FAR better providers in terms of cost and consistency.

Disappointed
April 7th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Absolute worst customer service and system setup I have dealt with my entire lift

(1 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit over 10 years, by far the most incompetent company, operators, website/account system I have ever dealt with. I have mulitple accounts and the operators seem to be clueless. I have spent over 10 hours on the phone to fix my account situation and not one operator/supervisor has the common sense to fix my issues. YOU WILL RECEIVE ZERO SUPPORT ON THE PHONE WITH THIS COMPNAY PLUS THEY HAVE THE MOST EXPENSIVE RATES AND FEES I HAVE SEEN. RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN.

John
March 25th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Confusing Cancellation

(2 / 5)

  I have been with Ambit Energy since 2017 and the bill has been inconsistent, I'm hardly ever home...I unplug things and rarely run my ac/heat. I transferred their services from one apartment to another apartment complex not far from each other and was hit with a cancellation fee and stated that I switched to another provider!!!!! I didn't BTW! I just transferred the lights! There's now an investigation. I've only been in the apartment for one month , today. I cannot pay a $200.00 bill. I'm rarely home due to working days through 7 p.m. and most weekends I'm out of town. Oh! And now AE is saying that I no longer have an account with them!!!! HUH! I have lights btw as well...apparently another provider has taken over, but neither I nor AE know who? So Over IT!

Frustrated Customer
March 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

WORST COMPANY EVER!!!!

(1 / 5)

  Never ever use ambit energy they will try to get you and give you certain discounts on the first month or two but after that you get charged a lot and they will say you are in a contract and cannot go out from it and even if you wanna change it we have to pay couple 100 dollars to get out pf the service. Being a company they should know how to respect and make their customers happy but all they care about is the money!! I Repeat DO NOT USE AMBIT ENERGY EVER!!!

Ashim
March 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

A class action needs to be started

(1 / 5)

  This company is overcharging me. I went from paying $50 a month to $150 in February even though I was in my 1 bedroom apartment for the least amount of days in February. I am cancelling with them and a class action lawsuit needs to be started.

Jila
March 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Terrible scammy company. Charged me a 400 cancellation fee because I left their service

(1 / 5)

  The title says it all. I decided to cancel my service with them because I felt like they were too expensive. 2 years I receive a letter in the mail that they have sent my account to debt collection because I supposedly owe them over 400 dollars. That doesn't add up, so I called their customer service and that's what they told me.

This is a disgusting company to not do business with and I would recommend anybody to stay away from them.

Verdi
March 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They are aweful!

(1 / 5)

  Customer service is no help they put everything on Oncor and when they don't want to be bothered they mysteriously hang up on you. Don't waste your money! Go somewhere else. I will never use them again. My bill has been going up for months now without any explanation.

Ursula
March 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Trash Service!!!

(1 / 5)

  This is the WORST company you can get electricity from! Dont do it!!

SRich
February 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Stop charging so many extra charges!!

(4.4 / 5)

  I have been with ambit for 10 years. No problems with company.. if I do have a with them they will hear. Ambit energy what's with all the extra charges.

Cheryl Stewart
February 22nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Scumbags

(1 / 5)

  Very dishonest company. Bills are high for no apparent reason. Customer service mislead you into some packages that are expensive and when you call them they suggest another different plan. They contradict themselves and are clueless.

John
February 15th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible Experience

(1 / 5)

  This is so ridiculous they charge me 165$ for a studio apartment!!!! I wasn't even there for 10 days last month and it was my highest bill. Definitely terminating the contract with them. The costumer service line is impossible to get through and each time have to call back several times to actually speak to someone 0/10. Seriously do not recommend.

Joe
February 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They have charges on my bills that they cannot explain

(1 / 5)

  I have been getting "New Ambit Energy supply charges" every month which amounts to a little more than half my electric usage charges (around 37 each month for the last few months). No one in customer service can explain what this charge is for. I had to cancel and still looking at that amount in my bill 2 months after. They said this is going to be last one at least.

Do no recommend
February 12th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

The Worst

(2 / 5)

  The plan price seemed okay so I went with them but gosh, the worst customer service and bill delivery system. My bill was always late, missing or non existent. Their agents are uninformed and basically just unequipped to do anything, they will not work with any situation, not even in the middle of a pandemic, for a healthcare worker with covid positive residents in the house after they failed to send the bill. The worst choice I ever made.

DW
February 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

bad company

(1 / 5)

  if i could give no stars that would be great!

non yah
February 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

SCAM!

(1 / 5)

  I think a class action lawsuit needs to be opened because I do not understand how my bill fluctuates the way that it does. $89 one month and the. $165 the next. My service has been disconnected for missing my pay date by like 2 days. I am not sure what this company has going on, but DO NOT use them. I signed up because I was new to the area and my Leasing Manager suggested them. I am terminating my contract next month!

Nicole
February 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company( I dont know why I had to put 1 star )

(1.2 / 5)

  Customer service sucks and they never have a answer to your questions or help for that matter. the rates are completely out of line and so expensive for a 2 bedroom apartment Im paying $350. Like NO WAY !

Go somewhere else
February 2nd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Dont do it

(1 / 5)

  They charge you a early termination fee if you switch before you contact them and your last bill will be your highest bill!!!!!

Mary Montgomery
January 28th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad overall

(1 / 5)

  Never in this life time will I recommend this light company to no one... very inconsiderate

Inconsiderate
January 20th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Overcharging and bad customer service

(1 / 5)

  Been a customer since 2016, but lately the are overcharging me, taking advantage of the autopay..2 bedroom $279.00 tv,fridge,couple light bulbs. Its time for change.:(

Kb
January 14th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...