Read AEP Energy Reviews


AEP Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for AEP Energy are the order experience, rated at 2.5 out of 5, and their plans and pricing, rated at 2.1 of 5.

AEP Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3.1 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

19 Reviews and Replies for AEP Energy


Good experience

(5 / 5)

  I have not had any problems with this company

Redkimber317
January 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Service Affirdable Rates

(5 / 5)

  I have been with AEP for 24 months.
Very simple manage your utility Bill's and length of time on contracts. I just locked in for 12 months more for .059 per kwh. I keep an eye on my contract expiration and renew everytime the rates drop. If you do not manage and you go out of contract you get market rates.

410 Js
May 8th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Easy renewal process

(4.8 / 5)

  If you like the ability to check your account online, contract start and end date, contract rate, usage history, compare your usage to past history. Renew with comparisons to other contracts and provide decent rates. Not sure what you would not like ? If you like 24/7 online access and if you really want to talk to someone a customer service line. Good company for decent rates and account access.

Ray
December 5th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Everything's great, except for how reliable it is.

(3.4 / 5)

  The title says it all. The website is good, the billing processes are good, customer service is okay, etc. The only downside is, that the power lately goes out monthly, usually for four+ hours. When you work from home, that is a non-starter.

Jon
June 28th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AEP OH will not reimburse for losses

(3 / 5)

  I had a power surge on my property June 12th around 7:30 PM. Had an electrician come up, they told me the neutral ground wire was bad and AEP had to fix it. Because of this, many of my items in my home were destroyed. It wasn't enough to where my home insurance would cover it, but it was definitely above my monthly pay to cover it. I don't make much, enough to pay my bills and eat and MAYBE just MAYBE buy myself something nice. I've been a paying customer for two years. If I'm driving my car and my engine fails and I wreck into 6 people, is it my fault or the engines fault? Exactly, but AEP doesn't seem to understand this common sensibility. They told me because the failure was unprecedented or unplanned that they couldn't reimburse me for anything. Now I'm out of $1200 worth of stuff because of their crappy service and their failure to do preventative maintenance and proper testing on my lines. Everything else is great, but I'd really recommend you put a surge protector that covers unprecedented surges for your items in your home because I've heard of AEP and these surge protector companies just screwing people left and right. I'm currently complaining to the BBB about this and I'm fearful they may shut my electric off if I take further action.

Nathaniel Flesher
July 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Into re-upsane time

(2.2 / 5)

  I will NEVER put myself thru this ridiculous procedure to CONTINUE with AEP. 30 minutes on the phone, repeating the same questions again 3 times, drove me to insanity.

Directions on the letter did not comply with system. NEVER AGAIN1

Suzanne McClure
November 8th, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AEP Needs an Overhaul

(2 / 5)

  We have been in Athens, OH for 2 years now. It feels like we are living in a developing country where there are regular power outages. So far we have had over 4-5 power outages, with one of the outages for over 24 hours in freezing winter weather. Their prices are ridiculously high. We were paying $178/month, and all at once we went up to $360/month and it is not because of wattage usage but because of services in our area. Do not recommend AEP at all.

Steve M
February 5th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bad!

(1.8 / 5)

  Bad!

P
March 3rd, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer Service sucks

(1.4 / 5)

  have called put on hold 5 times they never pick up whet on chat they never get with you e mailed have never got a reply. after 5 days of calling and sending chat mesg with no one getting back to me some one did and told me to fix the problem i had to call in the first hr of the problem. told them i had been trying and they said sorry and cut call off

carl
December 9th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Random Bill Jumps

(1.2 / 5)

  With AEP I started out with only a 40 dollar bill and I live alone. It went up last year this time like expected. However this year it doubled with no changes other than an average of 10 degrees with weather. I asked about usage and they said it was about the same maybe a little higher. However this year, MY BILL DOUBLED FROM LAST YEAR. And when I called and asked they basically said your temperature is too high for average usage and temperature is lower this year. Then proceeded to tell me theres nothing they will do even though my usage is roughly the same. If it wasnt for this company being the only one in my area I would not recommend them. By the way the bill went from $117 to $279 from December 2019-December 2020

David C
January 11th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Horrible company

(1.2 / 5)

  Horrible customer service, sent my account to collections with no notice. I have DPL as the local company and AEP was the Supplier. their rates went through the roof and the customer rep would not help at all. I switched because of this. then I got a collections notice less than a month later for a balance of less than $50. What company doesn't contact the customer first and just sends someone to collections. I have no problem paying them as I have since I found out what was owed. Now I have to fix the credit ding because of this. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

matt
December 15th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

AEP is the worse and a nightmare

(1 / 5)

  AEP is a nightmare. I get depressed thinking about them such a burden and loss of sleep. I'm not sure how this company is the only electric power provider in most area of Columbus as big as Columbus is. The electric charges are ridiculous and it's a shame.

anonymous
June 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Cant return the lower on for more than 2 days

(1 / 5)

  I am trying to return the power on to my place for 2 days and they keeps saying your case is reviewing

Haitham
May 4th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I FUCKING HATE AEP

(1 / 5)

  Worst company ever! Electric goes out when it rains. Today it went out for no reason and wont come on for another ten hours. Fuck you AEP hope you go out of business. I cant believe your in business anyways with all these poor reviews. I will make sure to give this company additional reviews that will be awful!!!

Brian
July 6th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Bait and switch

(1 / 5)

  I signed up electronically with AEP Energy. At the end, it gave me an "ELECRIC GENERATION CONTRACT SUMMARY" which was 6 pages that I printed. It noted my Supply price of $4.79. I assumed that all was good at that rate. Got my bill a day or so later and it was still the old price -- I knew that's prob valid because the requested change just took place. The next months' bill went up substantially from the level that I agreed to AND was still with the old supplier. I called and magically AEP has no record of my contract with them. This contract summary is all that I received. and now they want to set me up for a rate that is even higher than the company I was leaving. How can they give me a contract and then not honor it because they cannot see it on their end?

TracyH
June 9th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

I thought monopolies were against the law?

(1 / 5)

  There is literally nowhere to get electricity except AEP where I live. I recently moved and for some reason the post office didn't bring my mail until a month later. By that time I was two months behind on my bill an AEP shut my electricity off whem it's 23 degrees outside and I have kids in my house. I looked in my mailbox and there was my first bill finally with my new account number on it that I needed in order to pay my bill on time. I called customer service and spoke to a supervisor and they both told me it was too bad and it wasn't their fault literally. I had to call the corporate office to actually get ahold of someone that was willing to waive the $53 reconnect fee that I didn't have that I was forced to borrow money to pay for so my kids wouldn't freeze to death trying to get my electric turned back on . Don't waste your time looking up AEP customer service cuz they will not help you. Look up the corporate office in Columbus they will actually listen to your problems

Angry Ohio resident
January 17th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

TERRIBLE EVERYTHING!!

(1 / 5)

  I have been dealing with a billing issue with AEP for over 4 months!! Such a terrible experience and poor customer experience and service. When you call it takes FOREVER to get to someone who then is incompetent and usually has to transfer you. This is a terrible company with a very dissatisfied customer.

Molly
March 13th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Negative 1 REVIEW Company and Customer Service is awful and is the biggest SCAM- do not USE

(1 / 5)

  Horrible experience- liars and over billed over 500 bucks and customer service is horrible!!!!!!!!

Ford
January 14th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Power supply drains

(1 / 5)

  My husband and I began to worry we had an electrical problem throughout our home. Then I recalled when the dimming started. It was when I switched to aep.
Once I switched away from them, it stopped. They can not supply enough power to my home. I wouldnt recommend them.

Debbi
November 20th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...