Read 4 Choice Energy Reviews


4 Choice Energy Customer Reviews

The best review categories for 4 Choice Energy are their plans and pricing, rated at 1.6 out of 5, and their customer service, rated at 1.5 of 5.

4 Choice Energy Rating

Maryland Energy Ratings Score:


( 3 / 5 )
See how ratings work
All Providers Ranked From High To Low

20 Reviews and Replies for 4 Choice Energy


Stop calling me

(1 / 5)

  I don't remember if I used them in the past, but they call at least 3 times per day from different numbers. I've told them to remove me from their list and stop calling. Their rates aren't the lowest. How do I report them??

RH
July 19th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Hang Up Immediately

(1 / 5)

  Sales Rep for 4 Choice Energy is a fast talking, dishonest, scam artist who preys on hard working people. When I told the guy I wanted to stick with Penelec he insisted that I had been enrolled in 4 Choice for 2 years and that he just wanted to renew my service. I contacted customer service and spoke with Pam. I told her that I never signed anything for 4 Choice Energy to change me over and I wanted her to play the recording where I told the salesman that I wanted to stick with my default carrier. She told me that they just save the very end of the phone call and the company does not need a signature verification to to change the customer over to 4 Choice Energy. I had to relocate 4 months into the contract and got slammed with a $200 cancellation fee.

kah
May 9th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Literally crooks

(1 / 5)

  These people will do anything to get ahold of your information and enroll you without consent. Quite a few places refer to it as "Slamming". They charge astronomical rates and try to rope you in. Literally awful lowlifes.

Unit10
April 13th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

honest

(1 / 5)

  if you want to pay more for electricity, this is the place to go.

ralph
March 10th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

scam

(1 / 5)

  my elderly mother ended up paying double her normal elec bill. be aware. these people prey on the elderly

Not Happy
February 24th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

They harass you

(1.8 / 5)

  I changed from Choice to a different company due to lower rates, and they call me at least once a week - at work - to try to get me to switch back. I have asked them repeatedly to stop calling, and they won't. I don't care if they offer 0% rates, I will NEVER return to them. They are like a bad ex who you will have to deal with for the rest of your life!

Stop the harassment
January 6th, 2021

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware of Choice Energy

(1 / 5)

  Nate M. from Choice Energy consistently called our house asking us to switch to Choice Energy as our supplier and over the first 3 months it has cost us more than $270 dollars more than if we stayed with the PP&L default pricing. Their fixed monthly charge of $116.90 has us paying between 2 and 5 cents more per kilowatt for our energy. They locked us into a 24 month contract and we will now have to pay a $10 per month cancelation fee. Think twice (and/or just don't do it) before switching to this company.

Moe
October 28th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Buyer Beware

(1 / 5)

  We dealt with a salesperson over the phone named Nate M. who enrolled her/us in a block rate plan that is going to cost us more than $0.02 (2 cents) per kilowatt a month over the default PPL rate. He had access/info to our PPL through discussions so not sure how ethically he could lead us into a contract where we would be paying over average over $700 a year more. We average over 3000 KW usage a month so that is going to cost us more than $60 a month. He put us on a 24 month plan and the cancelation policy is $10 per month for the remaining months on the contract. We are about 3 months into the contract and will be calling them next week to cancel and pay the cancelation fee. I will update this review and/or revise ratings (e.g. customer service) if appropriate after speaking with them when their offices (in Des Moines, Iowa) open on Monday at 9:00 central time.

Moe
October 24th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Harrassing Calls

(1 / 5)

  I receive at lease 10 - 20 calls per week on my work phone. They either hang up when I answer, or start with a pitch that I need to renew my information with them. I don't use them. I ask to be taken off their call list - they say they don't have one and hang up. This should be illegal.

Fed up
October 22nd, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worse company!!!

(1 / 5)

  Horrible company..do not use!! They call me all times of the day using different numbers ..Ive complained and they still call..what kind of company uses unknown numbers..customer service is horrible..when you tell them to stop calling they hang up on you ..

Kathy
September 21st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4 Choice Energy is a scam

(1 / 5)

  They double charge for electricity usage and charge lots of cancellation fees (over$200). Please do not switch to this company and let them to steal or rob your money.

previousCustomerOf4ChoiceEnergy
September 1st, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

4 Choice Energy is a scam

(1 / 5)

  I dont know who is the unprofessional individual name Tara or Sarah that answers the calls @ 888 565 4490 but someone needs to have her retrained. Hanging up on a customer is the last thing any customer service rep should ever do to a non-vulgar customer.
After 100s of calls which led to being forced into this I joined the service. Once I received documentation in the mail and reading the ridiculous fine print I spoke to Tara or Sarah and cancelled the service on 12/19/2019(cancellation#75896c). Now 4 months later I noticed that you people are still charging me for this service.
Company now says that they have my call recorded on March 13th to cancel the service which I didnt do on March 13th I did that on December 9th where is that recording?

Dez
April 15th, 2020

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Great Customer Service

(4 / 5)

  Not sure what the rest of the reviews are about. I've spoken with Samantha for a few months now regarding a few issues with my agreement. Another company had called, said they were Choice, not true. So my plan with the actual Choice Energy was canceled. Samantha call to make sure I was aware, and spoke with me about ways to avoid that.
The rate isn't the lowest, but they went the extra mile with me on several occasions in the 6months
i have been involved.

Mark and Emily
November 11th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Increased bill.

(1 / 5)

  My bill has increased $20. a month since going with them. Sorry i listened to them. Now stuck for one year.

Randy Weller
May 25th, 2019

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Happy camper8

(5 / 5)

  I have had 4choice energy for a year reasonable rates fantastic customer service.had not one problem yet electric power is not cheap I would recommend it
Happy Camper

Happy camper
October 26th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Unetgjcal pra tices

(1 / 5)

  Once again after this,company was told NOT to call my elderly Mother they called again..this,Company us one of the most u ethical Company's I have EVER encountered. BEWARE..they are theives...by calling your num er and tgey ask u your name reups you for the companies services to generate your electric. They were charging my 89 year old Mother 12 per kilowatt hrs. I reported them to the BBB... BEWARE...UNETHICAL

One unhappy custimers,daughter
August 6th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Preying on the Elderly

(1 / 5)

  This Company's practice are so low. They call your home n give u a recording and they trip you supply company with them. They did this to my elderly Mother who didn't understand what she was answering and the signed her up for 2 years at an astronomical rate if .122104 per leg. The going rate is .6 to .7 They are now going to charge her 240 to cancel an agreement she has no idea ahe was getting into. Preying on the Elderly is pathetic..I would watch out signing up for this UNETHICAL COMPANY AND THEIR UNETHICAL way of getting business and trying to keep it....blundly luring people into their comoany...

Oneunhappy customer
June 27th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Worst ever

(1 / 5)

  Tricked my elderly mother with mental illness into one of their "plans" and when we tired to cancel a few weeks later once she got her bill it took them 4 days and several phone calls for them to call back and the representative was VERY rude and wants to charge her over $200 to cancel!!! I am looking into reporting them for deceptive business practice . DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Patty
May 17th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Customer service/billing/rip off

(1 / 5)

  This company tricked me into switching my electricity to their company. This company charges double than Jersey Central. If you want to cancel-they charge you a huge fee-$200+ dollars and threaten to shut off electricity! Customer service is the worst ever!! Money is being taken out of my Jersey Central bill and they want me to pay on top of that another $200. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I am reporting them to the NJ Attorney General for deceptive business practices!!!

Denise
February 5th, 2018

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Billing and Price

(3.4 / 5)

  Quite a good Gas Station but the price and billing is not the best. Overall, it is good station but they need to improve on billing.

Steve
March 22nd, 2017

Billing and Account Management
Customer Service
How likely are you to recommend
Order Experience
Price, Plans and Promotions

Recommended Electricity Plans

Plan Company
Rating
Length Price




Example Bill
loading...