Reviews for Inspire Energy

The best review categories for Inspire Energy are their customer service, with an average of 2.3 stars, and their plans and pricing, with an average of 2.1 stars.


Recent Good Review from Ty

Truly enjoy Inspire
My bill was relatively consistent with what I had before and I got not only a gift card but a refund on my bill for what I was already doing. Highly recommend trying Inspire and getting rewarded for paying your bills and it is so simple to switch to another company offering rewards.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ty from Silver Spring, MD on October 9th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

3 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Truly enjoy Inspire
My bill was relatively consistent with what I had before and I got not only a gift card but a refund on my bill for what I was already doing. Highly recommend trying Inspire and getting rewarded for paying your bills and it is so simple to switch to another company offering rewards.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ty from Silver Spring, MD on October 9th, 2021
So worth it
I didn't know that delmarva was switching my supplier and my bill shot up to over $300. I love inspire energy the unlimited plan has saved me so much money and it's such a relief to know exactly what my bill is going to be each month. Helping the environment is just an added bonus.. I suggested it to all my family and friends.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lakeisha Clifton from Towson, MD on August 20th, 2021
10/10
Very nice and thorough on explaining
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Ellicott City, MD on February 6th, 2021



Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

1 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Great Service With lower cost.
Someone knocked on the door, it was a representative who educated me on the benefits of clean energy. I did the Subscription for 12 months and was pleased with the experience. My bill was lower and the 3rd month was free too (the supply portion). I highly recommend it for anyone skeptical about the service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

John W from Laurel, MD on June 20th, 2021



Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Misleading
They mention a flat rate, but it only applies to the "supply" cost on your electric bill, you still have to pay the delivery/distribution charges and taxes to your normal energy provider (as indicated by their contract/terms and conditions). At least in my case, this would have resulted in my total electric bill being much more expensive than it is currently. If you happen to get coerced while you are out there, you have 3 days to rescind/cancel (at least in Maryland, may vary by state), so it should be easy enough to undo any damage.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Bryan from Silver Spring, MD on November 8th, 2021
Do your research
A very nice person came to the door today saying a lot of stuff has been coming out in the mail, but that they understand customers have not been reading their mail. I am interested in going green, but know enough to beware. I promised to research this - which I just did. If I switched to the plan I was looking at, my cost per kWh would have increased from about 6 cents to 10 cents. Obviously, I am not doing that. Other information on the web indicates that the cost should be the same or lower. So I am definitely NOT impressed by Inspire Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Unhappy from Kensington, MD on September 29th, 2021
Scam!! Dont do it!
The sales person who does not even introduce himself as a sales rep, misleads you to make you believe this is part of the state to become green and they are just making sure you get clean energy. LIE! You are actually signing up to a service with a lot of misled and fake information most likely from the rep who are usually very pushy and aggressive to get you to sign up. Its also very intrusive the fact that they come to your house and try to scam you as Ive had at least 7 of them come already and they wont leave! Which I feel its harassment. Unless you say a thousand times, they wont leave. You literally have to shut the door in their faces at point for them to leave you alone and leave your home. The reps dont even leave their masks on and grab your phone without even asking for permission and get really close to you. The rep also Kept asking me very personal questions such as how much I make weekly with my job and kept looking at my phone. Also he wouldnt let me read the terms of the contract that he said was just to make sure I was at least 18. Another lie!! That contract was an agreement to get the service. I could on for hours on how many Kira he said. All of the approach and service is just beyond wrong, disrespectful and a complete lie/scam. If they want to sell a service, at least come clean about and tell the truth about what your trying to sell and let the people decide on whether they want to get it or not, dont just straight up lie about it.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Y from Gaithersburg, MD on September 17th, 2021
SCAM!!!!
DO NOT ENROLL IN INSPIRE, especially if you live in Maryland. You are paying for nothing. My bill this past month was $188 for electric charges to Pepco and $430.98 to inspire for supply charges. YOU DO NOT NEED a 3rd party supplier - INSPIRE - in Maryland. Pepco has informed me my total bill for electricity would only be $188, no charge for "supply". Basically I am paying $488 to Inspire for NOTHING!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sondra from Chevy Chase, MD on August 16th, 2021
I just remembered why I don't answer my door anymore
Lot of fancy talk to get you to verify on the spot. No clear way I could find to cancel. If someone from Inspire comes knocking, politely ask for literature so you can decide after researching. It felt like a scam with a lot of half truths. People like this give renewable energy a bad rap.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Paddy from Owings Mills, MD on August 7th, 2021
Bullshit
A rep knocked on my door to have me sign-up for clean energy usage! He stated my bill will increase $.05 not matching my current bill. My new bill for July was an additional $128.00!!!!! Scammers!!!! They need to be sued and out of business.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Suitland, MD on August 5th, 2021
Dishonest company! Rip off
Visited BJs and was greeted by 3 salesman who quoted me a price that I confirmed three times. Two weeks later got a bill that my rate will be double. Called customer service and they just apologized. I will be canceling this service. Very misleading Nd dishonest. They said what they had to say to get me to sign the contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ronda Miller from Fallston, MD on July 26th, 2021
Clean energy scam
They just took the customer choice number off my bill and signed me up for their service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joe from Parkville, MD on June 17th, 2021
Worst decision
I had never paid so much for a service, the past 3 payments have been no less than $255
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joey from Columbia, MD on March 9th, 2021
Inspire's energy rates double PEPCO
Buyer beware! I spoke with PEPCO and learned that Inspire's energy rates are double PEPCO's rates. I was paying almost 16 cents per kilowatt hour versus under 8 cents for PEPCO's energy rates. PEPCO did say that there are third party providers who charge lower than PEPCO, so I will explore further. I was told energy rates were the same by the Inspire sales team and of course would prefer renewable energy where it's available. I recommend against going to Inspire.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Maryland Energy Buyer from Chevy Chase, MD on October 1st, 2020